We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your more luxurious home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Manor Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Manor Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Specials!
Ranked #1 of 49 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Your more luxurious home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have been to a couple of guesthouses and bed and breakfast places in South Africa where the establishment obviously caters for international tourists and where we as South Africans almost feel unwelcome. Well, Wilderness Manor is NOT such a place -- although of international standard, we felt very welcome and right at home!

The owners, Gerald and JD, are exceptional hosts, making us feel welcome right from the start, and offering helpful suggestions on what to do and see, and where to eat around the Wilderness area. The property is tastefully decorated throughout (the photos do not really do it justice), with spacious rooms and lounge areas.

Our room had a four-poster bed, couches, ensuite bathroom and large windows overlooking the Wilderness lagoon. There was also a fully stocked bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities available in the room. A good selection of books and magazines are available throughout the house, and complimentary dessert wines were also on offer.

Breakfast (cold buffet and hot breakfast on order) was great, and be sure to try JD's bircher muesli.

We can highly recommend Wilderness Manor -- it should also be a great hideaway spot for honeymooners!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We welcome all our guests with a complimentary welcome drink.
We sit down and chat to them which immediately makes them feel at home.
After all, this will be their home for the duration of their stay with us.
We try to offer suggestions of what to do and see and also where the good restaurants are located.
We are happy that you liked all the aspects of your room and enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your honest review of Wilderness Manor.
We hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
139
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful experience - Gerald and JD are fabulous hosts starting with their welcome drink and chat and ending with their fond goodbyes! Breakfast was well catered for and they were happy to give advise in regards to dinner venues as well as local attractions. Shame we only stayed 2 nights!
The rooms were well appointed - including a decent hairdryer, which is not something found in many guest houses or B&Bs over there.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a lovely ambience not to mention the view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of Wilderness Manor.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully next time will be longer than 2 days!
We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights (way too short!) in June 2012. This is a really special place to stay and JD and Gerald are amazing hosts. Their hospitality starts with a welcome drink to relax and chat before getting settled in, a very nice touch.

We were shown 3 very nice rooms, each with their own personal charms and we had to make the difficult choice between the 3. We were especially seduced by room #4, a huge room with a separate sitting area and a lovely balcony with a great view overlooking the lagoon. The extra-large bathroom with shower and bear-claw tub and double sinks was luxurious, and the Rooiboos products are a great addition.

The decor in the room and in fact the entire house is suburb. JD and Gerald have thought of many extra special details including a hot water bottle for chilly nights, lots of books, complimentary Port and much more.

Breakfast will amaze you, it is a wonderful feast. Fresh fruit, eggs, toast, sausage, ham, mushrooms (excellent!), tomatoes, cheese, yogurt, cereal and even fresh baked croissants ! JD's special Swiss yogurt/cereal is fantastic as well (sorry I have forgotten the name of it).

The very best part of staying at Wilderness Manor is JD and Gerald. You could not possibly hope for better hosts or nicer people. They are both extremely attentive to whatever you may need and are a true goldmine of information on everything to do in and around Wilderness. They really love what they do and this comes shining through each minute you spend with them. Thank you Gerald and JD for everything, we so enjoyed our time in your guest house and we will surely be back for longer next time. I absolutely recommend Wilderness Manor without hesitation, it is truely exceptional.

Room Tip: Room #4 is huge with a big balcony and nice view on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your amazing review regarding your stay with us at Wilderness Manor.
If you enjoyed your stay in our Winter, you will enjoy our Summer even more.
2 nights is too short and hopefully you will return for a longer stay next time.
It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our tasty breakfast!!!
We enjoy what we do and it is a pleasure to treat our guests.
Everybody enjoys to be spoilt now and again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Lovely guest house beautifully and tastefully decorated. The attention to detail given by Gerald and JD to everything they do is absolutely fantastic. As we had never been to Wilderness before they offered lots of advice and help in booking trips, restaurants etc. They organised us to have a walk with cheetahs which was so wonderful and something that we had never experienced before.
Their breakfast is great especially the Bircher muesli.
The position of the house is great just in front of the Lagoon. The rooms or really they should be called suites as they comprise, bedroom, sitting room and bathroom are very large and airy.
Hopefully we will be able to return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review - it is highly treasured.
It is wonderful to know that your stay and whole experience with us was fantastic.
As most of our guests are from abroad, we go out of our way to inform them about the highlights of the Garden Route.
We hope that you will return one day...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

An absolutely lovely experience, probably the highlight of our trip. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming, their house is beautifully furnishedas our the bedrooms with stunning views over the Lagoon. Complimentary drinks pre and post dinner in the gorgeous lounge. Definitely one to return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of Wilderness Manor.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again and that your second stay with us will be as memorable as your first.
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed yourselves.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

What a gem of a place this is. Stunning views all day from the floor balcony - could almost touch the water and the scenery behind of mountains was breathtaking. Gerald anxious to give us a great welcome and he succeeded with such a interest in making sure my husband and I enjoyed the South Africa experienced. Staff were so friendly and the Lemon Grass restaurant had a great menu. 5 star definitely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Wilderness Manor.
We are only too happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our South African hospitality.
Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back to Wilderness Manor again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Dear Gerald and JD - what a gorgeous place you have!! Thank you so much for looking after us, unfortunately we only had one night to spare, we would have loved to stay longer. We appreciated your personal attention to detail - booking our dinner reservation for us, recommending the sites and the chats. Our room had everything we could wish for, and more! Gorgeous view of the lagoon, quiet tranquil location. Lots to see in the area. The 7 passes road drive was a great suggestion - we loved it! Brekky was a real treat - so spoilt! Thanks again for your attention to detail and for looking after us so well. JD - Miss Mauds awaits you in Perth :)
Mel & Ry, Perth, Australia

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoch-gerald, Owner at Wilderness Manor Guest House, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you Mel & Ry for your wonderful review.
We are also sorry that you could only stay 1 night - hopefully next time it will be for a longer stay.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed everything and that you felt spoilt.
Next time we are in Perth, we will be sure to visit Miss Mauds!
We look forward to your return to Wilderness Manor one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined Colonial Guest House situated in Waterside Road, overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the scenic village of Wilderness.Step out of the front door and onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to golden beaches, restaurants and village shops.This exquisitely decorated home has an ambiance of tranquility, serenity and style. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or billiard / reading room decorated in an African Colonial style, with oriental rugs, art and antiques. Enjoy superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Retire to the spacious and luxurious lagoon facing rooms or to the standard garden room.Wilderness Manor is centrally located to explore the lakes area and nearby Garden Route towns like Knysna, Plettenberg Bay, Mossel Bay and Oudtshoorn in the Klein Karoo. Spend the day walking on endless beaches, playing golf, bird watching, canoeing, cycling and hiking. A three or four night stay is ideal to explore the Garden Route and Klein Karoo from Wilderness Manor. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Manor Guest House to your Saves list