We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairy Knowe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairy Knowe Hotel to your Saves list
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wilderness
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very pleasant stay. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are adequate but could do with some improvements. It was rather cold so for winter some extra comforts would go well in the room.




  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    48
    24
    13
See reviews for
68
77
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent to have stayed at such a nice place. I will call again. This was a part of my own country that I did not know and was pleasantly suprise. The hotel rock, the staff rock, everthing rock and I have only 1 word.... Excellent.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place is very old, but I had a comfortable stay. There is no heater or aircon in the room, which was a problem as it was very cold when I stayed there. But, there is a nice fireplace at the bar facility that is in the main entrance. The room had a kettle with coffee, tea, sugar, etc. and a flat screen TV with various channels to choose from. My room (33) was able to accommodate a family of 4/5 people, so it was very big. The toilet was separate from the bathroom, which had a bath and
shower tap over the bath.
This facility also has a swimming pool, tennis facilities, river boats and caters for some pleasant summer fun. I had a pleasant stay and would recommend it to the "not-so-fussy" adventurer.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms facing the river ... for a great summer experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The location is very good, with a great view especially with the river right in front of our room. The service and food was good as well. The only problem we experienced was when the power went out and the hotel had no backup supply

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked 4 nights via Daddy's Deals. I had always wanted to stay at this Hotel having seen it many times on holidays. I did not stay after all. On arrival I went in to view as my husband was unexpectedly on crutches. The receptionist allowed me to view the booked room up a good number of stairs. It was cold dark and scruffy. The room had a double bed as requested and also a double bunk which was in the way and not necessary. The reception area was dark and almost musty. The receptionist made no attempt to accommodate us differently. I chose to forgo the booking. I was very disappointed with the look and feel. Nothing matched the on-line picture.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The staff is extremely friendly and helpfull, however the management can make an effort to do some upgrades/improvements to facilities; no heaters/warm duvets on double beds/generators as backup when power goes off etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I and my kid booked in after a 5 hour drive.Linen still wet on bed and the smell of wet paint still very obvious in the room . Basically everything old and warn, not what you would aspect from such a iconic establishment in Wilderness.
Hope someone does something about this before more potential guests and tourists gets a bad experience.
Riaan

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairy Knowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Hotel

Address: Dumbleton Road | PO Box 28, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairy Knowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairy Knowe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.