We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palms Wilderness Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palms Wilderness Retreat to your Saves list
Palms Wilderness Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr George & Owen Grant Roads, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Picturesque place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. We were welcomed by a very nice lady, Candice. She was very helpful in getting a last minute restaurant booking as it was valentines day. The place looks exactly like the pictures and the warm reception makes it even more appealing. The rooms are clean and tidy. There's a lovely garden outside where you can sit and enjoy a sherry. Definitely recommend this listing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    38
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
134
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Large comfortable room set in beautiful gardens. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, giving lots of excellent suggestions of places to eat and visit. The breakfasts were really tasty. Best thing about this place though is that it is just so relaxing. It is only a couple of minutes walk away from several good restaurants and close to lots of places you'll want to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Was not necessarily expecting this to be a fantastic place to stay as it was booked as an add on to our stay in Wilderness. However, we both thoroughly enjoyed our two days at Palms. The room was very good, the breakfast was excellent and the owners were both very helpful when we needed them.

I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Palms Wilderness Retreat... Completely faultless! The service was beyond any 5* hotel we have ever stayed in. The rooms were beautiful and all the attention to detail was impeccable. We felt pampered at every turn... Everyone was so genuine and friendly and I only wish we had planned to stay there longer than we did. The breakfast was without a doubt the best we've ever had at any other hotel or guesthouse. I would highly recommend a stay here... We'll be back as soon as we can. Fatima and Richard

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a very pleasant, warm and memorable B&B type of accommodation with some special touches such as a guest lounge with honour bar and individual loungettes in each room. Comfy beds and nice warm showers complement the offering. You can even bring in your own evening meals to the dining room if you don't want to eat out for some reason.

We stayed a week so the breakfasts became repetitive, but this won't bother you on a shorter stay. They also need to get larger room safes to accommodate iPad's/laptops.

But what sets it apart is the service. Candice, Birgit and Johann go out of their way in every sense to make the stay pleasant and to add little touches to make your day. Such as loaning beach chairs and surf-boards for the kids to play with on the beach and customising breakfast for little taste nuances. They make the ordinary, extraordinary - Bravo!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a superb stay here. The attention to detail was fantastic and we were made to feel so welcome. Breakfast was incredible - again, the service was superb & the quality of the food was excellent. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in August, the South African winter, but the welcome was warm and very friendly. This is a wonderful place to stay in a fantastic location that enables you to explore the surrounding area at your leisure. There are some super, and reasonably priced, restaurants in the small town itself as well as a stunningly long beach - all of which make this area a fantastic spot to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palms Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Wilderness Retreat

Address: Cnr George & Owen Grant Roads, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wilderness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palms Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Wilderness Retreat in the Village of Wilderness. Beautifully decorated en-suite rooms - all with separate entrances into our amazing tropical gardens. Enjoy a peaceful day at the pool or explore the Garden Route, or perhaps a round of golf. After our breakfast outside in the sun, you will be ready for your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Palms Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Wilderness Guest House Hotel Wilderness
Palms Wilderness Hotel
Palms Hotel Wilderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms Wilderness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.