We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palms Wilderness Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palms Wilderness Retreat to your Saves list
Palms Wilderness Retreat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr George & Owen Grant Roads, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wilderness
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed at The Palms for 2 nights and were impressed. The accommodation could be referred to as ‘shabby chic’ and was just what we hoped for. The thatched chalet we stayed in was private, comfortable and unassuming . The spacious room with traditional home furnishings made our stay ideal. Staff were friendly (especially Johann) and extremely helpful with advice and recommendations. The tasty breakfasts were sizeable and well presented. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from restaurants and bars adding to its appeal. All in all we enjoyed our stay at The Palms and hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent one night here on a tour of the Garden route. It was a real retreat,tucked away near the village green and lagoon but close to the beach, restaurants and shops. The chalets were large and luxurious with their own outside areas. The breakfast was superb, served in the garden. A very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: All the chalet rooms were quiet and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A great retreat in a small village. Perfect for relaxation and chilling out. You must have a look at the beach which is 2 minutes walk under a subway and wow it is impressive. The first day was just walked it as it was misty and the 2nd day we lay in the sun. You felt you had the beach to yourself.

Anyway back to the guest house. Birgit could not have done more for us - she was marvellous. There were 5 tables set up outside in the gardens for breakfast as it was a small and intimate hotel. It was such a lovely setting and beautifully sheltered. It felt more like a spa than a guest house. The room had a lot of character but was very comfy and each hut had a small table and 2 chairs outside.

We ate both nights a the Girls and thoroughly enjoyed the food there. We probably could have stayed at the lodgings another 1 night to chill even more. Good tip is to take a trip up the Outeniqua Pass to Oudtshoorn. It is about an hour's drive but spectacular scenery and worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stop number 3 on our tour and what a pleasant surprise. Located just outside the village centre literally 5 minutes from the restaurants, bars and shops Spar and Chemist included.The accomodation is set in a tropical garden with a small pool. as this was a winter visit the temperature was never hot but this garden will be a true retreat when it gets really warm.The beach and what a beach is the otherside of the N2 but there are access tunnels under the road so again no problem the hotel provides towels that you can take to the beach.The room we had was very comfortable but in keeping with the retreat theme had no radio or television.The TV is in the main lounge which we didn't have time to utilise.This is a good place to use as a base from which to tour the many garden route attractions.Oh breakfasts were very good and different each time.The Management and Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only spent 1 night at the Palms Wilderness and wished that we'd spent more time there.

The hotel is set out in really lovely grounds, which are very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are lovely and the staff are really welcoming.

The breakfast was amazing, we didn't have to lift a finger as it was all brought to us on the terrace while we watched the birds in the garden.

We walked to the Girls Restaurant for dinner, which was also fantastic and such good value for money. The location of the restaurant might seem a bit strange - it's at the back of the petrol station but don't be put off as the food is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I must say that this was the most disappointing and most expensive of all the hotels that I stayed in while visiting south Africa. staff were nice but they didn't make up for the place. We tried to watch TV in the common room but couldn't get it working and no instructions. The room while spacious was dark and gloomy and it was crawling with ants,ugh. I don't eat eggs, therefore for breakfast I got two miserable streaky rashers and a cherry tomato, miserable. find somewhere else to stay that you might at least get value for money.

Room Tip: find another hotel, this hotel is near the beach but it is pretending to be a safari lodge (a poor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessPalms, General Manager at Palms Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hi Mrs Murray

Thank you for your comments and review. We are very disappointed that we could not make your stay with us more enjoyable . We try to create a quite, comfortable atmosphere at the Palms and prefer local decor and finishes to that of the many Victorian and Beach resort style hotels. Our thatched rooms do create a darker appearance, and we will look into better lighting to light up the room. Our breakfast is done in such a way to create a more personal experience then your ordinary buffets. This might reduce the amount of option we offer, but guarantees fresh produce, and a properly cooked hot breakfast.
We will work to improve on our service and value, and hope your experience with us was but a minor bump in a trip to our lovely country.
Best Regards
Johann Shepherd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to South Africa and for once I am actually going to follow through on my intention to review our accommodations. We stayed 3 nights at this beautiful place as suggested by trail finders. It was relaxation from the minute we arrived with the very friendly staff & welcoming atmosphere without being intrusive. The little house was gorgeous - very cute, newly thatched and very very comfortable. When we accidentally left the lights on in our car overnight - thus running our battery down - they were so helpful even helping us to push start the car etc I would recommend it as a spot to chill out in (and a massage is worth while too).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palms Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Wilderness Retreat

Address: Cnr George & Owen Grant Roads, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wilderness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palms Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Wilderness Retreat in the Village of Wilderness. Beautifully decorated en-suite rooms - all with separate entrances into our amazing tropical gardens. Enjoy a peaceful day at the pool or explore the Garden Route, or perhaps a round of golf. After our breakfast outside in the sun, you will be ready for your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palms Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Wilderness Guest House Hotel Wilderness
Palms Wilderness Hotel
Palms Hotel Wilderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms Wilderness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.