We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for tranquility.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hilltop Country Lodge to your Saves list
Hilltop Country Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilltop Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Wilderness
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you're looking for tranquility.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The stunning views from hilltop lodge cannot fail to soothe and calm. The whole ambience of the lodge is one of peaceful serenity. Breafast is simply delicious, perfectly presented and wholesome good food, the best fresh fruit salad we have had in any of our 10 stays in SA. Hannie is the perfect host, helpful bit unintrusive. The roms are scrupulously clean and tastefully decorated. We wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Our room, number 3, was cosy and comfortable. All the rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our third stay with Hennie and Magda and it just gets better each time. The views are stunning, accommodation great and hospitality superb. Should not be missed if visiting the area. This is the place to stay for peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: The new suites 7 & 8 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed 6 days over the Christmas period at the Hilltop Country Lodge. It has been the first time in our travelling experience where the the Internet images and information could not live up to the actual article! The view will leave Ernest Hemingway at a loss for words. The owners made us feel right at home and we were treated as family more than guests.

We had our Westie along.He was made most welcome and even received his very own Doggy Christmas stocking on Christmas eve! Every morning we were served a rustic breakfast with something special added every time. Hennie and Magda kept us company many a morning and regaled us with colourful anecdotes of the area. My only complaint is that we couldn't prolong our stay! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 5 - especially if you are planning to stay a few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Typically when one has booked a place where they have never been before, they feel a certain level of anxiety on whether the place will in fact live up to their expectations. We are glad to say that Hilltop exceeded our expectations!!

My wife and I stayed in the honeymoon suite for 5 days over the busy new year period.

The views from our room were absolutely exquisite, in-fact the views throughout the lodge were breath-taking. Our room had all the amenities one would get at a top hotel (including a jacuzzi), the fact that the Lodge had a few rooms (six I believe) provided us with a high level of privacy.

Breakfast was extremely adequate with a “personal touch” kind of service. There are plenty of good restaurants in the Wilderness (about a 10 minute drive from the lodge) which serve all types of taste.

We were so impressed by the Lodge that we have already recommended it to our friends and family and will most definitely be returning there in 2014.

We absolutely loved our stay!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived from Hermanus and had a comfortable and pleasing stay. Our balcony overlooked Victoria Bay and as we sat having braekfast we watched the rollers break along the beach below. We had an enjoyable meal at The Girls in Wilderness. We then moved on top Plettenburg. In hindsight we wished we had stayed at Hilltop and not moved on - it was much the better place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

For sure the most beautiful location on the Garden Route - the view is simply stunning. We spend two nights here, and had a very pleasant experience. Quiet stop over, enclosed parking, safe in the room, welcome sherry awaiting you. Hope to go again one day!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all rooms have this awesome view, as does the breakfast patio..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The view has been extensively celebrated here. Not much more to add except that it is amazing.
The lodge has been built with a deliberate Colonial atmosphere, even though it is not that old. I'd say the architects hit that one bang on. The gardens surrounding the lodge are equally impressive though and I'd recommend visitors take the time to do a tour through the gardens and further down around the estate. There are even better views a bit down the hill.
The rooms are well equipped and wonderfully laid out. The architecture of the lodge places the rooms at an even more strategic viewing angle than say the main eating/chatting area (full moon rising over the Indian ocean from your balcony anyone ?).
The pool is small but not too small (you won't be doing laps here). It perches on the edge of the hill and offers a spectacular setting for just lounging with a book under the African sun.
Breakfast was good and abundant, but that was it for us as far as eating in was concerned. There are too many excellent restaurants around the area to plan on being home for dinner or lunch. On that note I'd also say that I wouldn't recommend staying there without a car. A backpacker's lodge it is definitely not. At the same time I wouldn't say it is for the 50 or 60+ crowd. This lodge would find a sweet spot with couples driving down the coast, or say coming up from Capetown for the weekend. Similarly, a motorcycle tour group would also find this lodge more than accommodating for their rest spot.
All in all well worth what we paid and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Country Lodge

Address: PO Box 12002, Garden Route Mall, George, 6546 | Victoria Bay Heights, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilltop Country Lodge 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilltop Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.