We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay, perfect to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakhurst Farm Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oakhurst Farm Cottages to your Saves list
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Fantastic Stay, perfect to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed fout nights in Oakhurst, planed was actually just two :). Accommodation is great and the facilities and activities for children and cyclist are amazing, hiking through an wunderfull wild forest or cycling alonge great landscape on the garden route. Also kajaking on a lake or beeing serounded by lots of animales. Location is just beautifu.We had a great time and farmer Jake and family are great hosts with lovley girl. We will recommend to all our friends. Thanks for the wunderful time!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

From the start of our booking, Claire was AMAZING!! It was my dad's 60th birthday weekend and the whole family came from Pta, Cape Town and Plett to share it with him. The area is stunning, there is loads to do for both fitness junkies as well as couch people :-) The visit to the dairy was really big fun. Receiving fresh milk and home made yogurt was a real treat! Wish I can get hold of the yogurt every day!! The only downside was that we arrived at night and the signage from the tar road to turn off isnt to clearly marked. Will def be back as this is great value for money. We just loved the charm of the cottages!!

Room Tip: Nick's Nook and Hans Hallow is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

What an grand time we had. The cottages are well decorated & fully equipped to self cater.
the walk through the forest and visit to the farm to feed the calves was a highlight for my children. The fresh milk and the stream water was my highlight. We will be coming back soon, definitely !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is the perfect couples retreat. If you love cooking it will inspire you further, take books, lots of red wine and relax. You can bird watch , fish, hike and take in the beauty of this location. Enjoy every moment, we did.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Sadly we are back in the city, it was a wrench leaving this lovely farm!
We had the most wonderful relaxing stay and could have stayed another week or two..a cottage almost in a forest is my kind of heavan. Sitting on the verandah reading in the mornings,birds all around =pure bliss and being able to step into the forest to walk or play at any time was a treat of all treats; also, besides their perfect location, the cottages are decorated so beautifully.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend at the Forge and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The farm is huge and beautiful, there are many activities on site or around for the kids and the entire family and the farm product are simply delicious.
We loved the charm and simplicity of the Forge itself and we were ready to adopt the dogs and take them home!

Room Tip: The forge is a bit more rustic than the cottages and only the bedroom is enclosed. The rest of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a lovely stay! Kids can't decide what was the best! Thank you Claire and Jake for everything! Attention to detail appreciated... pretty interior, info on the area, toys for the kids, lovely home-made yogurt, fresh farm milk, Easter bunny arriving on Easter Sunday... the friendly Melody. Absolutely loved the cottages, everything was beyond expectation! So much to do, absolute bliss with the kids! See you in July!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakhurst Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Farm Cottages

Address: Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 150 year old stone cottage was one of the first building to be built at Oakhurst and today is the main bedroom, with thick stone walls and exposed timber beams. The living area wraps around the cottage and is made up of a dining area, equipped kitchen with gas stove and cosy lounge area. The entire side of the building can be opened up, by way of canvas roller blinds to maximise the spectacular forest views from here.The Forge sleeps two in a double bed, with two extra kiddies beds on a mezzanine in the loft. A central log fireplace takes the chill away during the Garden Route winters. The open-air shower and bathroom offer the same breathtaking views onto the forest fringe.Each cottage is privately positioned and fully set up for self-catering, with a well equipped kitchen and cozy living area with wooden floors. The living are in turn opens out onto a large wooden deck and braai area. This is the spot where you can either enjoy a good meal around the large wooden table or simply enjoy some of Oakhurst’s fine mountain air while getting stuck into a good book.Each cottage has three bedrooms (One double and two twins) and sleeps up to 6 people. There is a central bathroom with shower. Garden Route winters can be cold, and a fire roaring in the kitchen’s woodburning stove sets the perfect atmosphere for farm winters.Ideal for families, a group of friends or even larger groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oakhurst Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakhurst Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.