We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely minus a few issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rinkink Beach House

Rinkink Beach House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rinkink Beach House to your Saves list
Rinkink Beach House
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   34 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely minus a few issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a great stay at Rinkink, but compared to other 4* guest houses in South Africa, this one is certainly lacking behind (it's more 3*). The best thing about it is its proximity to the beach - one road from the ocean and only 30m from the walkway down to the beach. The balcony has partial sea views, nice sun loungers and a Weber braai. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding of high quality.
But there were a few issues we weren't that happy with: the hosts insist on washing bath towels every 3 days only. They take your wet towels away in the morning, throw them in the dryer and replace them all nicely folded up a little later, giving you the impression they are freshly washed. Yet, sometimes, our white towels were clearly a little dirty. When we asked for fresh ones, the owners got upset and very inappropriately lectured us about their 3 day rule, and wouldn't let up about it, which was very patronising. the cleaning lady was little motivated, cleaning the bathroom only when we specifically asked her to do so! We were also told she doesn't work on Sundays. The other issue is the kitchen: it's a self-catering flat but there is no stove, only a microwave and one single cooking plate, so it's impossible to cook a proper meal. If you stay for a weekend that might be fine, but we were staying for 8 days with a child, which made healthy cooking really difficult.
The wifi didn't work all the time, and there were also on-and-off problems with the Dstv reception, which the owners didn't hurry to sort out: also not quite 4* service.
All in all, it seems that you mainly pay for the location. A short stay is lovely, but a longer stay comes with several inconveniences.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Rinkink beach house. Would love to have stayed longer. Hospitality was excellent and so much trouble was taken to ensure that we were comfortable. I would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It is a great place to stay, but for a four star accommodation I expect a working internet! At least reading and writing of e-mails must be possible.
And one question: What should we do with twelve pillows in one kingsize bed and no space to put them?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Self catering as opposed to B&B. Danny and Maryna are very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.Clean and comfortable.No dishwasher or washing machine but inexpensive service washes available in the village launderette 400 yards away.Cooking is by ring hot plate , slow cooker or microwave. Great bird watching and Forrest walking locally.Friendly safe village with a fab restaurant (The Girls). Accommodation for couples rather than kids. Quiet situation although there is some traffic noise during the day from the N2 50 yards behind house but not intrusive.Great if you appreciate clean comfortable simplicity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rinkink Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rinkink Beach House

Address: 34 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rinkink Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Two (4 star graded) Units are with the following:Private entrance/stepsBalconies ….Overlooking the Beach & Ocean Few meters from the famous Wilderness BeachWalking distance to the Village with Super Spar and lots of RestaurantsFull DSTV/ Beach Towels/Kitchenette/Braai facilities/ Fan or Heating/safeBoth Units have a Large en-suite bedroom with king size or twin bedsUnit 1 …..Small bedroom With ¾ sleeper coach Unit 2 …. Small Lounge With ¾ sleeper coachThese sleeper coaches are very comfortable !Undercover parking within property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rinkink Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rinkink Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.