We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disappointing meal of holiday.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cocomo Restaurant

Cocomo Restaurant
197 George Rd., Wilderness 6560, South Africa
+27 44 877 0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Wilderness
Price range: $4 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Cocomo Restaurant is situated in the centre of a beautiful village called Wilderness - the heart of the Garden Route. Cocomo as a unique thematic embellishment drew inspiration directly from the spectacular beauty of our natural surroundings and setting it provides for the local residents, national and international travellers alike. This concept restaurant truly captures the tropical sentiment ideal for optimum relaxation, an intimate haven ideal to share and enjoy the pleasures of life. At Cocomo Restaurant visitors are able to experience an eclectic mix of tropical village lifestyle and flavourful cuisine, reflecting the dynamic aesthetic of Wilderness, its unspoiled beauty and the vibrant colourful atmosphere created by its people. Cocomo is inspired by our passion and appreciation for places that reflect a lively, relaxed and festive spirit all year around, providing a distinct atmosphere while offering tropical fusion foods, exceptional Illy coffee and of course some of the finest South African wine. Local artists also often enjoy performing at Cocomo due to the idyllic environment incomparable for musical entertainment and joyous get-togethers. Cocomo is very popular and alluring to the public in its warm, friendly, relaxed, cozy and visually pleasing nature. It further lends itself to a focused approach in cherished relations with customers, providing affordable products of high quality and fine presentation, paired with outstanding service in our strive towards realizing customer satisfaction every time.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most disappointing meal of holiday.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

2nd Jan. Dinner. Waited an unreasonable amount of time at the door, eventually had to go looking for someone to help us. A couple ahead of us had been waiting even longer. The waiter was friendly, but the service was very slow from start to finish. One flat draft returned. No cutlery for the starter. The main meals: A R400 platter for two with dry fish and calamari that could not be finished it was too unpalatable. Overpriced. The catch of the day was kingklip. A tiny tiny portion, delivered with incorrect startch. Overcooked. Everything on plate cold. The 4th meal was hake, it was off and returned to kitchen. They offered to remove from the bill. No refill of drinks offered during meal. Waiter hard to find. A pleasant enough venue with some enjoyable live music on that evening. Surprised by all the positive comments on this page. Rather have Italian at Pomodoro.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocomo R, Owner at Cocomo Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear first time reviewer, I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience! Over the festive season we served 10 000 plates of food and had an extreme amount of return visitors who all loved Cocomo Restaurant! As you can see by the many positive reviews, we do pride ourselves on good service and excellent food. Having been in the hospitality industry for many years you know that somewhere (maybe 1 in 10 000) something goes wrong. That is not the purpose of having a restaurant though. We work really hard trying to please everyone but in your case we failed. For that I do apologise!

Positive comments are what we live on, it’s like fuel to drive a very large ship. Bad comments slow you down and break you down. Luckily we are strong minded people though so we pick ourselves up and strive to the best results!

…..Rather have "South African" at Cocomo Restaurant, we have soul, we have spirit, we have great food and excellent cocktails, live music, some of the best SA wines. Just to name a few.

Till next time

Cocomo Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    78
    20
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Garden Route Hit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was just in South Africa on holiday, and stopped for lunch at Cocomo in Wilderness, South Africa. The atmosphere is garden dining, relaxing and welcoming. We enjoyed a huge selection of cocktails. Each of us selected a different drink and then shared the tastes. All were very tasty and well worth the exploration. We had a lunch consisting of individual pizzas. Ingredients were fresh, the dough was light - and cooked to perfection. I had the ham/olive choice, very good, not greasy and the crust was cooked just the way I like "crispy." Service was prompt, attentive and friendly. All should think about a stop at Cocomo for a casual lunch or dinner, while traveling the garden route.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Will go out of my way to visit Cocomo as often as possible as long as they are open! Was last there in Feb 2013 but this visit I noticed they've updated the food menu. Everything is delicious. The cocktails never disappoint and there's a new stage for the live music too. This place shouts "i'm loved" at you as soon as you walk in and the pride the people take in creating such an awesome atmosphere is incredible. No wonder they get so many rave reviews, well done on being named as a top place to go Cocomo and keep up the good work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“EVEN BETTER THE SECOND TIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent the night at Wilderness especially so that we could visit this restaurant again, having had an excellent meal there a few months ago. Luckily, we booked a table. The restaurant was humming at 6.30 pm on a Friday - amazing ambience, live band which was pleasing to the ear, and despite being so busy the service was excellent. Our waiter, Jason, was attentive and helpful and his food recommendations spot-on. I had the mussels in white wine sauce, and my wife had the line fish (hake). Both dishes were superbly presented and highly, highly delicious. The fresh hake was very moist and perfectly prepared. When the bill was presented we could not believe what good value we had received. The evening had been so good that we will travel to Wilderness again soon to repeat the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great food service and atmosphere .After a long drive from Capetown we went to Cocomo's
arriving mid afternoon the place was buzzing but we were seated and served very promptly.
Food was excellent can't wait to go back..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocomo Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Cocomo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocomo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.