We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Save
You added Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering to your Saves list
84 / 192 Kleinkrantz Farm, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had a wonderful time during January 2014 staying in the cottage. Friendly, welcoming and relaxing. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best. So many small items were on hand that other self catering accommodation s do not have. Thank you. Eben, Cherise and Katelynn.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Thank you for your warm, positive feedback.. We are so pleased that your group enjoyed their stay at Beside Still Waters and we hope you will plan a return visit at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Jenny and I spent 2 nights in the loft - not expecting very much from this beautiful holiday destination located on the outskirts of Wilderness in the South African "Garden Route"....
Oh boy, were we pleasantly surprised when we entered and found ourselves in a crispy clean, very roomy and very comfortably studio apartment!!! A perfect bed, quality linen and towels, small but well equipped kitchen, ditto for the bathroom.....
Standing inside the loft and looking around bears witness of the love and dedication Rob and his wife have put into this place. We were surprised by the fresh flowers in the room.

Below the loft is a 2 bedroomed cottage, with the same quality finishes as the loft. What is great is
that there's an internal staircase which can be opened should one wish to rent the whole place, changing it into a very roomy and comfortable 3 bedroomed house.
The only improvement I can suggest is to add a nice bbq with outside light, as it gets very dark.
Regards
Francois & Jenny Haasbroek

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
We are delighted that you were happily surprised by the quality of the finishes, bedlinen etc of the Loft.

Thank you too for the practical tip of installing a good light outside so that couples can braai - even on the darkest night.

We hope you"ll return to try it out!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Easter weekend away in this quaint and charming self-catering cottage. Quiet and clean home tucked away in beautiful surroundings we cannot thank Rod and Hydie enough for their warm Wilderness hospitality! We really appreciated all the small touches, such as the Easter eggs and the muffins! all very tasty treats. We will definitely be back to visit again. Highly recommend to anyone for some much needed R&R from the city!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
How lovely to know that you could experience the romance of the moon over the lake, as well as the stunning tranquility of the area.

Hopefully you will soon be able to plan another break in this very lovely part of our country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Delightful self contained accommodation. Beautiful location. We saw a wide variety of water birds from the nearby bird hide. The gardens are wonderful, and there is a verandah to relax on while watching the sunset. Altogether a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
We share your excitement & pleasure at the wealth of bird life - as seen from the well placed Bird Hide - just down the road, as well as right under our noses , in the garden.

We trust that you could take the peace and beauty with you, and that it will inspire you to plan a return visit to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We used Beside Still Waters as a halfway house for our trip from Cape Town to PE. The location is well positioned within the natural beauty of Wilderness. The units are clean and well equipped with quality appliances. There were a few of special touches, such as the flowers, chocolates and muffins. Rod and his wife really made us feel at home and will definately make use of their services in future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
It was so good to hear that you could break your journey here and after a peaceful night could continue - feeling well rested & refreshed.

Being surrounded by Natural beauty is a balm for the soul - both for our guests and for us!!

We look forward to your next half-way stop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Only 45 mins from home in Knysna Mandy and I had a wonderful, peaceful three day stay. We had the upper room which was very pleasant, clean and homely. Thanks to Rod our host for a lovely warm welcome and a very pleasant stay. Of all the trips we have been on over the years, this was one of our favourites. Highly recommended. John and Mandy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cosy Upper Room & could make the most of beside Still Waters as a base from which to explore the beauty of this area.

We look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our group of 6 stayed here in February 2014 on our exploration of the Garden Route. All agreed it was the best place we stayed in the fortnight. Excellent accommodation, welcome and breakfast in amazing surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask which venue faces which way for the sunrise/sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering

Address: 84 / 192 Kleinkrantz Farm, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside Still Waters' is located in the heart of South Africa's magnificent Garden Route and offers bed & breakfast and self catering accommodation for families, couples, individuals or groups. Visitors from all corners of the globe travel to this lakeland treasure, part of the Wilderness National Park, to experience the natural beauty, and bird and animal life. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.