We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hearty Italian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro

Pomodoro
George Avenue, Wilderness, South Africa
44 8771403
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 restaurants in Wilderness
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Hearty Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Tried Pomodoro on the recommendation of our innkeeper, and we were so glad we took his advice! We were craving some good Italian food. I had the Lasagna, dense with cheeses and ground beef, just the way I like it, and my husband had the Osso Bucco, flavorful and tender. Accompanied by a house red wine is was a hearty and very satisfying meal. Of course we had to try the Tiramasu, which was wonderful. The staff was friendly, the decor fittingly rustic. All in all a very pleasant experience!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    109
    73
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for families and couples!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

We had early Dinners on 2 evenings in June while on holiday. Very cosy with good service and excellent food. Portions are large and well priced. Service was very good!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delisssh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our first night in Wilderness we just wanted a quick bite but we got much more than we bargened for - Pizza was to Die for

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A slice of Italy on the Garden Route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Fantastic authentic italian food, reasonably priced, lovely warm friendly atmosphere, very friendly polite and courteous waiting staff. Also was lovely to be able to snuggle at a table that backed on to the clay ovens!!! Definitely a must to visit if you're passing through Wilderness.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly family restaurant !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

A must visit in the Gareden Route. Excellent pizzas, affordable wines, friendly service and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Pomodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.