We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joplins Pub and Steak Grill

Joplins Pub and Steak Grill
Route 66, The Garden Route | Entrance to Pirates Creek, Wilderness, South Africa
0733478896
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 restaurants in Wilderness
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Joplins is a small restaurant with a menu of 5 items: rump, sirloin, fillet, Tbone and lamb chops all served with egg and chips. The meat is always cooked to perfection and very tasty. It is well patronised by the locals so you know you will get a good deal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    65
    20
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gansbaai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Even better than the last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited Joplin's again during last week. The experience was even better than the previous times. The steak was excellent and my friend's lamb chops just as delicious. As always the atmosphere was wonderful with all old favourite swongs suiting the name Joplins being played. The first visit this holiday was so great that we had to visit again two days later and the steaks were even better tasting. This restaurant shows how wrong other places with large menus can be. Stick to your specialities and ensure top quality.,And the restaurant team goes out of their way to ensure a wonderful time for all.

A must visit if you are in the Wilderness area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable family outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Great relaxed atmosphere, good service, simple menu, excellent steak. Good family outing. We will definitely be back
R

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed our meal here but although we were warned that the menu was limited we felt there could have been a bit more on offer. The food was well cooked, but not a lot of it as there is little but the steaks on the plate - but the ambiance was good and I would certainly eat there again if I felt like a good steak.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Indeed the best steak on the Garden Route”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Easy-going waiters, very relaxing atmosphere. They know how to focus on the simple things. Steaks were excellent. The red wine could be better

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joplins Pub and Steak Grill also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Joplins Pub and Steak Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joplins Pub and Steak Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.