We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie Burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zucchini Restaurant

Zucchini Restaurant
Timberlake Organic Village, Wilderness, South Africa
+27 44 882 1240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 restaurants in Wilderness
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert, Vegetarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Zucchini is blushing from all the attention... Voted in the "Top 20 Culinary Destinations" in the Garden Route for three years running as voted by the Chaines des Rotisseurs. Also voted best "Family Restaurant" in the Garden route for the last two years. If walls of this honest country restaurant could talk the conversation would include words of fresh,vibrant, from scratch, home grown organic and compliments to the chef. To us simplicity is the key. You can expect dishes filled with flavour, a taste experience for the natural foodie. Zucchini Restaurant is in the Timberlake Organic Village in Wilderness. We offer a selection of Vegetarian meals but also offer game dishes like the "Springbok Shank" or our "Trio of Carpaccio". A mix of local-made micro brews from the tap! 12 Different types of local beers to taste, not to be missed. Play park for the kids, and a host of activities to keep them busy while you relax on our couches and sip a glass of wine.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Veggie Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Any vegetarians out there looking for a decent burger, look no further. I had the Chickpea burger which was very tasty and HUGE. Refreshing to see a menu with items slightly different than the normal boring same old same old. Carnivores relax, there is plently for you to eat as well. Lots of organic and free range items too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    73
    17
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great lunch with great staff Especially the Manager really helpful and full of advice on the menu This is a great place to bring children as there is plenty to keep them active

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
köln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Love - would always come back again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Super cozy athmosphere, great interiour, wonderfull food and the Most adorable staff ever!

We had two delicious starters, two super tasty meat main courses, two desserts (try the cheesecake!!!!!) and enough to Drink the whole evening through and paid less than 500 Rand. Worh every Cent and Even ecological too. What could One wish for more?

And, again, a heartly 'hello' to the waiters and the kitchen team who all together do a Great job!

Zucchini is a great alternative to the City centered restaurants in wilderness, timberlake is worth a visit anyway..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SLow and scrumptious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is part of the slow food movement using fresh local produce and this was evident in the flavors of the food. I had the hakemwhich was a bit underdone or me, but the salad and veg that came with it were divine. Steve had the springbok hamburger which he enjoyed. For desert we had the renowned cheese cake which was indeed delicious.

The service was pleasant if a bit unprofessional -the waiter forgot about our starter ... But we didn't mind. Prices very reasonable and generalmatmosphere very laid back. So highly recommend on a day when you are relaxed and not in a rush and want to sit for a while over something good to eat

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Great feed, great philosophy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Read about it in the Lonely Planet and loved the idea about local / organic produce. We were the only guests that night and had the full attention of our host - who kept a good balance between his personalised service and our privacy though.

- beautiful fireplace setting
- small menu but generous serving sizes and excellent food quality
- organic wines missing from otherwise very extensive wine list

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zucchini Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Zucchini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zucchini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.