We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Views Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Views Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   South Street, Wilderness 6529, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wilderness
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It is the most stunning location and view from the top of the cliffs. The staff is very friendly and is walking to extra mile to make the stay something to remember. Since it was a business working sessions, the staff ensure refreshments are available to die for "inner strength". The downside is the internet / WiFi is not always good and/or weak. It is a small hotel with 18 rooms that makes it a quiet location to focus on the purpose of the visit. Also the choice of food in the restaurant is great and delicious. Worthwhile to pay the premium price for the stay.

Room Tip: Request a room where the WiFi signal is stronger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely look into the WiFi connectivity. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
59
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The views from the hotel are breathtaking, alongside a well decorated hotel with fabulous rooms. Unfortunately the same cannot be said about the service. We greeted very poorly on arrival. The evenings saw our kids sharing a sleeper couch (as expected) but only setup for one child (we were traveling with two), this happened both nights. The restaurant food was average (certainly not 5 star) with breakfasts not always having the freshest of foods. The restaurant staff need lots of training to bring them up to 5 star, we in fact booked a table for 7 people to arrive on time to the table still being laid out but for only 6 where the hostess says 6 is fine because kids don't eat at the table. Let's not talk about the lift which broke down and the doors to the shaft left partially open with no signage or barriers. Hotel staff had to be greeted rather than greeting the guest ... Simple things missing that you expect at any establishment never mind a 5 star hotel.

Superb hotel, great views ... But definitely not 5 star service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is with regret that we took note of our failure to deliver the standard of services associated with a 5 star establishment. All issues have been brought to the attention of management and we will ensure that these short comings are addressed and improved upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the long weekend in June as a surprise from my lovely wife to celebrate my 40th birthday.

The hotel's location is really amazing - situated on top of the dunes overlooking the Wilderness beach and Indian Ocean. It can't really get better than this.

We stayed in room 9 and although it overlooked the western side of the hotel / car park, we still had a good view of the ocean. The room was extremely spacious with a huge bathroom, separate TV room and lovely bedroom area with our own private balcony - really what you would expect from a five star hotel.

The hotel's decor was tastefully with high quality furnishings resulting in a light and airy ambience.

We stayed here utilizing the "Winter Madness" special which included a very reasonable spa package treatment - the spa experience was also thoroughly enjoyable and the ladies provided the treatment were extremely professional and did a sterling job. Not that going to the spa is my thing, but this was really great and wouldn't mind to go back for some more!

Furthermore, all staff that we came into contact with were always very friendly and pleasant to deal with.

Also, make sure you visit the top floor of the hotel which has a lookout deck, pool and open bar - in summer this area would ROCK!

The pillow chocolates provided with the turn down service had to be Lindt as I had to pry my wife's choccie from her hands everynight.

On the negative side, the room service was a bit slow and we had to wait on one occasion for more than 45mins and a reminder phone call, just for a cappuccino. Also, the bathroom amenities were a bit iffy and for instance did not have any bubble bath, but I am sure this could have been provided on request. We also had to ask for the bill to be changed on check out as it did not reflect the discount associated with the special. All of these things were however trivial :-)

The only reason I did not rate this hotel as "Excellent" was due to the bad service received in the Views Restaurant - see my review elsewhere on Tripadvisor about that experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent visit to our Hotel and Restaurant, it is with disappointment and sincere regret that we took note of our failure to deliver the standard of services associated with a 5 star establishment and which we work so hard towards delivering to all our guests. We will use use this feedback to train our staff thus ensure that we whatever short comings are addressed and improved upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The atmosphere as well as the food, staff are out of this world. Sit and relax inside or out with a drink or lunch and watch the dolphins and para gliders in play. Awesome place to relax and unwind. View at this hotel is breathtaking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review! As our slogan reads "Views - our name says it all" - We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful view and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Views as part of the Mantis collection has again given us the best value, service and quality one expects from a 5 star establishment. The staff are proud and attentive and the highlight of our garden route trip. We will definitely be returning soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to see that we have again met your expectations! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were fortunate enough to win a competition & blessed to stay in a Premier suite this weekend. Top Notch accommodation & great staff. Loved every moment of the breathtaking views. Loved the heated towel rails & underfloor heating in the bathroom. Even lovely dinner with extra special attention given. All round a fantastic experience ;-) WOW!!

Room Tip: Sea facing to watch the beautiful sun kiss the waves when you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your prize getaway with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A very warm welcome from the Security guard, informing me to park on the upper level, was followed by another warm welcome at the front desk where a welcome drink was offered. I was assisted to my room with a smile.
The turn down lady showed me how to turn two towels into an elephant, which was fascinating. Where do you have coffee and a newspaper delivered to your room at the time you select these days? Very impressive!
The room was beautifully furnished and the amenities were great! You can sit in the bath and admire the view, or on the loo and watch TV! What more can you ask for!

The friendless of the staff everywhere was just fantastic. I tend to agree with the other comments that the food could be a bit better to match the level set by the rest of the spot, but there was nothing specifically wrong with it, it was just not quite in snyc with the rest of this incredible place.

I really struggled to leave!

Room Tip: Just ask for sea facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewsHotel, Marketing Coordinator at Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review! We have noted your concerns on the restaurant and will address this with management. We do however hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Views Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Views Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: South Street, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wilderness
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wilderness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Views Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Views Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Views Boutique Hotel Wilderness
Views Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Views Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.