We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Little Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hildesheim Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hildesheim Guest House to your Saves list
Hildesheim Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bochum, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hildesheim Guest House is a true little paradise, located in one of the most beautiful parts of South Africa. The owners are wonderful people and we very much enjoyed our stay there. The little bungalows are well-equipped, clean and located on the beautiful estate. The view from the pool is stunning. Although the guest house is located a little outside of Wilderness, in Hoekwil, a cheap and easy shuttle service can be arranged for those not wanting to drive after dinner. The area itself is absolutely stunning and the guest house is perfectly situated for trips in all directions. We highly recommend this place and will surely return in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    46
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
127
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The setting is ideal, very quiet with birds in the trees and just beautiful with the mountains and surrounds.
We stayed in a garden cottage for 1 night only - two families with two small boys. The boys enjoyed running around on the grass and attempted a short swim (it was a bit cold so not ideal weather). The pool was not very clean (this may be due to the rain the day before?).
Although the cottage was very clean and neat and the reception was friendly, the cottages definitely needs some upgrading. The wooden deck and furniture is old and the rest of the interior is also a bit out-dated. As I said, nothing wrong with the cleanliness but not really a place I would recommend to others. Not 4-star standard in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review us. What can I say? Maybe you should select accommodations that have been built and or furnished in the past 12 - 24 months.
To provide travellers with a balanced view below are our most recent reviews (last 3 months) from guests who visited with us in the same cottage - you decide.

“14 begeisterte Menschen und das nach 6 Tagen in "Hildesheim"” by SvenMerseburg

“Simply Wonderful” by 329andrewa

“Toller Aufenthalt!” by Wooly101

“Wonderful” by JCsuperstar2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were 6 couples who thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. The hospitality received from the owners together with the tasty breakfast and the weather played a major role in our fun filled weekend. We also enjoyed the tranquility of the surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parow, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Two words......Absolutely Awesome!Truly home away from home!Stunning location with breathtaking views & genuine hospitality ensured that we enjoyed an unforgettable & memorable 25th honeymoon week. Tony&Vanessa your hosting was impeccable as was your breakfast every morning. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves & will most definitely,most certainly return! We highly recommend your establishment. The tranquility & peacefulness is unrivaled!
"Drambui"

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Anyone thinking of visiting the Garden Route and not stopping at Hildersheim will be missing an unbelievable experience. Such friendly hosts go out of their way to make everyone happy, great rooms, and a Breakfast to die for. We will be back. thanks once again Tony & Vanessa

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have been for many times in SA. This was one of the best places, i have
ever been there. Tony and Vanessa are the best hosts you can imagine.
We only can recommend this place for everybody, who is looking for
a very nice place to relax. There are also some super restaurants nearby.
Our favourites were "The Girls", "Joplins" and the "Oyster Shack".
Thank you very much Tony and Vanessa
Peter and Doris

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and had trouble leaving. Tony and Vanessa welcomed us like family, and ensured that we had everything we needed at all times. Spotless rooms, beautiful linen and lots of little extras. Amazing rusks! Very generously accommodated all my dietary requirements ! Will come back again and again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hildesheim Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.