We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own peace of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hildesheim Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hildesheim Guest House to your Saves list
Hildesheim Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Randburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Your own peace of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently embarked on a road trip of discovery. We travelled through various places of interest and eventually arrived at Wilderness. We had no clue of where we wanted to stay ,but we knew it had to be a quiet place ,away from busy roads , and also self catering-I was very tired of B&B's . We found Hildesheim on the web ,called Tony ,and from then on knew that our proposed visit would be great. We arrived and weren't disappointed. Despite the fact that it was cold ,the cottage was warm and very comfortable. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated , the lounge comfortable ,and the kitchen well equipped. Tony and Vanessa were always there to answer questions,help with directions ,or just to ensure we were comfortable. The gardens are home to many bird species and the views of the forests and mountains superb. We will be back.

Room Tip: All cottages are well positioned on the property, private and enjoy the garden and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review us and to tell travellers about our "piece of paradise". The cottage with its views of the Outeniqua Mountains and visits from our feathered friends is a favourite, glad to hear that you enjoyed it. When next in the Garden Route we would like to host you again or just pop in for a cup of coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    38
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
116
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Mid road trip with 4 adults and a toddler we came across Hildesheim. What a relief. Tony gave us by far the best service I have ever encountered while travelling. What a legend! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to tell travellers about us, much appreciated. We look forward to meeting you again when next you visit the Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hildesheim Guest House and will definitely recommend them to friends / family. The breakfast served was amazing and the owners were very attentive and hospitable. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you visiting with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

For those who are asking themselves whether the lovely photo of a palm-fringed pool overlooking a valley adequately represents the rest of Hildesheim Guest House – we are pleased to confirm that it most certainly does. The self-catering cottage is private, spacious, comfortable and equipped with many thoughful details. The host, Tony, is always accessible but never intrusive. The location is near enough to the beach and yet also far enough from it to provide a tranquil restorative retreat. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us and the special mention of the views. The pool, palm trees and beautiful Outeniqua Mountains in the distance do make it special - we do make every effort to ensure that what you see (on the Internet) is what you get.. Our cottages are certainly a hit with self catering guests, glad to hear you liked it.
If ever in the Garden Route again we would love to host you - or just pop in for a cup of coffee or tea and something fresh from the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent 2 enjoyable nights at the Hildesheim Guesthouse. Tony, the host was extremely helpful with suggestions for excursions and meals. Our room had a comfortable bed and small terrace. The bathroom was quite small. A nice touch was the home made risks put out to have with our morning coffee. It would have been nice to have had some fresh milk in the fridge, I solved this by buying my own. The breakfast was good with delicious fresh fruit and a well cooked choice of eggs etc. Our only real criticism would be that all the rooms were showing considerable signs of wear, a thorough refurbishment would be a real improvement. We would certainly recommend this guesthouse to other people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the freshly baked rusks and thank you for making the point about the milk!
Our bathrooms are relatively small compared to the spacious room sizes, the original 1975 design makes it difficult to change. We hope the fluffy white robes, slippers and complimentary toiletries make up for it.
We hope you visit the Garden Route in South Africa again and thank you for saying that you would recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmelshausen, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked for 3 days at Hildesheim´s and fortunately had the chance to stay another 3 days, so had nearly a week to enjoy the beautiful place, perfect service and welcoming hosts. Situated above Wilderness in the little Village of Hoekwil, a nice community with a lovely villageshop/ cafe, and lots of nature , just a 10 minutes drive down "to where all the other tourists are" Thank you for everything Vanessa and Tony, we will come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of our Guest House and the mention of our local Village Shop, close enough to the busy attractions in Wilderness but 'far' enough to enjoy the peace and quiet of Hoekwil. We are grateful that you decided to extend your stay with us - Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our 2 bedroom self catering cottage at Hildesheim was private, quiet, spacious, luxurious and very clean. Tony and Amanda have the hospitality gene, and couldn't have been more helpful - always available for advice on local sites, had all the maps and brochures we needed to plan our stay, and made us feel right at home. Their property looks over a beautiful valley, just above and behind the beach at Wilderness, and we so enjoyed coming back to the quiet and peace of Hoekwil after a full day hiking and beach combing. Local restaurants are delicious and kid friendly. Like everyone else, we wish we could have stayed another week! Thank you Tony!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hildesheim Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.