We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hildesheim Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hildesheim Guest House to your Saves list
Hildesheim Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed for an enjoyable couple of days in May 2011. We arrived in the evening in the middle of very heavy rain. The owners were both very friendly and accommodating. Our two bedroom chalet was very spacious with clean linen and a lovely view from the balcony. The following morning was beautiful with great views and we could really appreciate the stunning scenery. We would have been quite happy to stay for another few days, but had to move on - but highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    38
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
116
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hildesheim feels like home from the moment you get here.
Tony & Vanessa are so warm & welcoming you feel like you've driven into your own driveway.
They are the most generous of hosts, paying you as much attention or leaving you in solitude as you need.
They are excellent at reading their guests needs and are also invaluable with information about the surrounding areas.
The views from the rooms is so impressive & the rooms themselves are so clean, neat & tidy, with comfortable furnishings, you'll never want to leave.
Sitting pool side under cover in the fabulous lounge chairs enjoying the amazing view is a must.
Breakfast is cooked to your liking at reasonable hours & I would suggest you enjoy their hospitality.
All in all I give Hildesheim 10 stars, fantastic stay at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

What a fantastic experience! Hildesheim is not just a guest house - it is a haven of special touches, friendship, nature at it's best, space and beauty, creativity and the most amazing views and scenery. Sunrises, sunsets and night skies that take your breath away. Tony and Vanessa are not just excellent hosts, they are now friends, whom one treasures. The service and accomodation is superb. Vanessa's breakfasts are not to be missed, and her baking is a gastronomic experience. She even shares her recipes. Being a special birthday, she baked a decadently divine chocolate cake to take home, as a gift. Accomodation is large, clean, very comfortable, private and so peaceful. Birdsong abounds. Location is near enough to places, but far enough to afford space and peace. The best thing was BEING there - the worst, having to leave! Can't wait to return, and am singing their praises wherever I can. Thanks again, Tony and Vanessa - this holiday rates top of the list!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

There are not many words to describe how wonderful the stay at Hildsheim was. Everything was superb. The hosts, Tony and Vanessa are very special people and their hospitality is "10 stars". Accomodation excellent, very spacious, very clean and most of all, very welcoming. I honestly felt as if I had come home. This will always be the place I stay at, whenever I visit the area. The staff carry on the excellent hospitality and the surroundings are pure paradise.I could go on and on but will end by saying how much my life was enriched by meeting Tony and Vanessa and spending time at Hildesheim.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be very suitable. Cottage 1 is excellent if you are staying for an extended t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed in one of the garden houses. It was an outstanding stay. A lot of space (place for up to 4 persons), very clean, good bed, good bathroom, good kitchen, place to sit outside with a view on the large garden of the guesthouse and the sound of the many birds in the surroundings.
The service we received was excellent. Very friendly and helpful owner, a welcome drink...Because it was our honeymoon, they spreaded flowerleaves as a surprise...we were surprised! We very recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Thank you very much Tony & Vanessa. Your friendliness, beautifull guesthouse and hospitality was great...The finer details in the room rose petals and sherry just put the cherry on the cake. We will defnitely return and this time bring friends with to enjoy the same experience. We can defnitely say our first anniversary was an unforgetable one. See you soon

Room Tip: Defnitely Honeymoon suite if its a romantic trip getaway, next time we will be going for self cateri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empangeni, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have taken more than a carrot cupcake recipe home with us . . . . . memories of a wonderful stay.

We have stayed in many guest houses across the country, but have never experienced the Hildesheim hospitality. Thank you Tony & Vanessa for making our stay special.

We can recommend the unit we stayed in - it overlooks the pool area with a breathtaking view of the mountains in the background. What a beautiful view.

Vanessa, your tasteful meals and the special spoils with fresh flowers out your garden with the muffins and breakfast in a bottle made us feel very special.

Your hospitality will be remembered and assure you the next time we are in the area, Hildesheim will be our first choice and number 1 Stop.

We were privileged to have met you and will always remember the extra mile you went to make our stay special.

Thank you Tony and Vanessa

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hildesheim Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.