We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home in Wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Trading Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Trading Post to your Saves list
The Old Trading Post
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1.7 km down Die Vleie / The Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 50 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Home from Home in Wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Mike and Harja certainly made our stay at the Old Trading Post very special. The accommodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the addition of a washing machine in the Strelitzia Cottage a bonus! Although self catering with everything we needed, we took advantage of the lovely breakfast (v. healthy with lots of choices) in the cottage with the other guests.
We came for one night and decided to stay here for our remaining 4nights in South Africa. If we are lucky enough to return there is no doubt where we would stay.

Room Tip: Strelitzia cottage offers more space and accommodation for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Jenny and Colin - Thanks for the positive review and for spending your last few days relaxing with us, (after a hectic journey through South Africa, Botswana and Namibia.) We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for the kind comments left in our guest book. Next time? We are sure you would like to explore the Wilderness and Garden Route more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had a lovely stay at the Old Trading Post in Lara's room in July 2013. I was in the area to run the Knysna half marathon and spent three nights at this lovely guest house. On the morning of the marathon the owner Mike even got up before 05:00 for breakfast! The room was warm, the bed good and the home made breakfast was great each day. The location is tranquil and just what one needs to get away from busy city life. Mike and Harja even helped with excellent recommendations for dinner (and also how to get there and back avoiding the stop-go on the N2).

Room Tip: Loved the bath in Laura's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for the great review. It is our pleasure to do a little extra to meet our guest's needs. Glad you enjoyed it. Enjoy your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Clean and quaint with even a washing machine for our use in the room. A B & B with a difference! The hosts were very welcoming and looked after us so well. The breakfast served promptly every morning was delicious - healthy and filling for our days excursions.

Wildernis is a lovely place to explore the Garden route from and it was a good choice to stay at The Old Trading Post. True value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the positive review and compliments. We value all reviews and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We are indeed so centrally situated to explore the attractions of the Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a beautiful guesthouse outside Wilderness. The rooms were lovely and so neat and breakfast was very special (fresh herbs from the garden) and we loved the fireplace. The hosts, Mike and Harja were very friendly and made out stay special. They are also dog friendly, beautiful hikes walking distance. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks Francene and Werner for staying at The Old Trading Post! Also for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It was great getting to know you. Hope the lest week of holiday was enjoyable. Good luck for the future. Enjoy the Kalahari when you go there! Regards Mike & Harja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenhuizen-Moerkapelle, Nederland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We (parents with a toddler of 1.5yr old) stayed for a short week at the end of April in the Strelitzia cottage and had an absolute good time! The cottage was very nice and well-equipped and fitted perfectly to the nice and tranquil atmosphere Mike and Harja created in their beautiful house and garden. The surrounding area is lush green and very close to a large lake and the white sandy beach is within reach only 5min drive. Mike and Harja are happy to help you with things to do and/or see in the neighbourhood, next to cooking a wonderful breakfast! ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the very favourable review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to make your and other guests' stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Loved having you all here. Mike & Harja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this guest house via Trip Advisor on Internet.
We were very pleased with the offered hospitality by Mike and Harja.
The site is very quite , located in a lovely nature.
The restaurants in Wilderness are good especially " The Girls" ( behind the CALTEX petrol station).
The accomodation in general is perfect, Nice room, good breakfast, and the most important thing;
the warm friendlyness of the owners. You feel really at home . We exchanged ideas many times. Harja has also the advantage that she speaks- beside English and Afrikaans- Dutch very well.
Whe appreciated as well the offer of TV channels which includes BVN so that we could follow daily the news from the BENELUX.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you Philip for writing a review, it is much appreciated! We trust you enjoyed your visit as we really enjoyed having you and Carine here for 8 nights. Pity that the weather was not so good. It is always nice to see our guests make use the veranda and garden to relax and enjoy, whilst not out exploring the region. Glad you could try most of the restaurants and review them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, Uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a fantastic and very beautiful guest house with friendly owners.Mike is full of good advice re the local area, places to visit,activities and restaurants to eat in.We stayed in Lara's Room which was so beautiful and comfortable with an amazing bathroom. The gardens are well tended and the pool area very relaxing. The breakfast was probably the best we had on our travels-thank you Harja-superb-especially the fruit salad. 2 cute dogs Angel and Flower complete the idyllic picture.We will be returning . PS.A nice place to eat is Bee Juice Cafe, we went twice, good food and really nice staff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review. It is always a pleasure hosting our guests and doing what we can to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. Always good to spend a few nights in Wilderness, to relax, time for activities,the beach and try our local restaurants. Our autumn is approaching, so your spring in Ireland must be there too. Enjoy!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Trading Post

Address: 1.7 km down Die Vleie / The Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Trading Post 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trading Post is situated in a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Wilderness and surrounded by the lakes and wetlands of the Wilderness Section of the Garden Route National Park. The Old Trading Post. It is only a few minutes drive to the beaches, popular restaurants and village of Wilderness. We are conveniently situated 1.7km off the main N2 national road. Take the turn-off to "Die Vleie" (meaning "The Lakes") about 5 km east of the village. We offer cosy and unique accommodation with both Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering options. Accommodation consists of: Strelitzia Cottage - a one bedroom self-catering cottage which sleeps a family of 2 adults and 2 children with en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The Garden Room - a double bedroom with kitchenette and en-suite shower. Lara's Room - a double bedroom with en-suite shower and bath. The tin Room - with 2 single beds and en-suite shower. Facilities include: Free wireless internet, swimming pool, barbeque facilities, bicycle hire, canoe hire (subject to river conditions) laundry facilities and sunny veranda / terrace and garden. Rooms are well equipped with bar fridges, tea and coffee facilities, television heating and cooling. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking is permitted outdoors. Nearby are walking trails, bird hides in the national park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Old Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Trading Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.