We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, calm and unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Trading Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Trading Post to your Saves list
The Old Trading Post
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1.7 km down Die Vleie / The Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 50 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing, calm and unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this guesthouse in October for 1night as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. We really enjoyed our stay on this unique and calm place. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the surrounding wildlife.the service and amenities are excellent and the rooms have a high standard. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The hosts Mike and Harja are very kind and welcoming, we even were able to rent their canoe to paddle down the stream into the lake which was a nice little adventure. Great value for money and really recommendable stay! We only regret we didn't stay longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for the kind remarks and compliments, much appreciated. Gald you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

This was a perfect place to stop on my way through the Garden Route. Rooms were comfortable and have very nice furnishings and fixtures, plus everything else you'd need: free wifi, board games, TV, a garden & common areas, and more.

I should also note that the inn is very close to several hiking trails and other portions of National Park. If you like hiking or picnics, its all right around the corner.

The owners are extremely warm and welcoming, and breakfast was excellent. It was really a perfect experience with no exceptions!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harja, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks very much for the positive review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place is amazing. The breakfast here is above and beyond and we were so well looked after by Mike and Harja. Sweetest hosts we had along the route and we only stayed one night although we wished we stayed longer. Wilderness was amazing to stay in. We chose it over Knysna and do not regret that decision! Wilderness is something special and this B&B is one of the best I have stayed in ever. We stayed in Lara's Room, it was beautifully decorated and a romantic room. We did the hooded Kingfisher Trail hike by recommendation from Mike and we LOVED it! Then we watched the most magical sunset on the beach of Wilderness! We were super spoilt after our stay here. If you are considering a place to stay in Wilderness, you simply MUST stay here. Mike keeps his garden in immaculate condition and the breakfast is served on the patio over looking it. We had to stop and just breathe in the beauty of the place a few times. Go there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Mike and Harja are wonderful hosts. Canoeing around the lagoon and river next to the house is great fun. Rooms where lovely and superb value, garden is really nice too. We had a great time in Wilderness and wished we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I recently stayed at The Old Trading Post in Wilderness for 4 nights, experiencing both Strelitzia Cottage and The Garden Room. I was in SA for my son's wedding in nearby Herald's Bay and I can hardly believe my luck at having found this lovely place. Mike and Harja were perfect hosts and were most helpful in every way - the accommodation and service was faultless. If I am ever in this part of the Western Cape again, it will be to this charming and wonderful guest house that I will be heading. Thank you for everything. Bev MacLaughlin (London - UK)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is an excellent base from which to explore the lake district. The birding in the garden is very good. We stayed in Lara's Room and found it comfortable with a very good bathroom. Our hosts, Mike and Harja, really did everything possible to make our stay something to remember.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Our recent stay at the Old Trading Post in Wilderness was truly wonderful and welcoming.
Although we only stayed for one evening, the kind and warm hospitality of Mike and Harja is one we will not forget - such generous hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and every last detail was considered. Staying in Lara's room, the suite was very comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. The house is so comfortable, warm and homely and I would definitely recommend this as a lovely, rural and relaxing retreat. Only wish we could have stayed longer!
Alicia and Paul

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Trading Post

Address: 1.7 km down Die Vleie / The Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Trading Post 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trading Post is situated in a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Wilderness and surrounded by the lakes and wetlands of the Wilderness Section of the Garden Route National Park. The Old Trading Post. It is only a few minutes drive to the beaches, popular restaurants and village of Wilderness. We are conveniently situated 1.7km off the main N2 national road. Take the turn-off to "Die Vleie" (meaning "The Lakes") about 5 km east of the village. We offer cosy and unique accommodation with both Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering options. Accommodation consists of: Strelitzia Cottage - a one bedroom self-catering cottage which sleeps a family of 2 adults and 2 children with en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The Garden Room - a double bedroom with kitchenette and en-suite shower. Lara's Room - a double bedroom with en-suite shower and bath. The tin Room - with 2 single beds and en-suite shower. Facilities include: Free wireless internet, swimming pool, barbeque facilities, bicycle hire, canoe hire (subject to river conditions) laundry facilities and sunny veranda / terrace and garden. Rooms are well equipped with bar fridges, tea and coffee facilities, television heating and cooling. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking is permitted outdoors. Nearby are walking trails, bird hides in the national park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Old Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Trading Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.