We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Limberlost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Limberlost
Save
You added Limberlost to your Saves list
Waterside Rd. 380, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Beautiful setting, lovely location close to village and beach and could not ask for better hosts really going the extra mile to make the stay unforgettable! Will definitely be back!!The cleanliness was exceptional. The private pre-arranged anniversary request for my husband and I could not have been more special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ladismith, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our second visit to Limberlost. Stunning old thatch Wilderness property. Very friendly hosts and lovely dogs. Will definately be back as we visit George often to see Mom in a home there and cannot imagine spending a single night in George.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Very charming Guesthouse in a wonderfull Location, just in Front the lagoon, surrounded by a large Garden. There is no better Place to stay in Wilderness or along the whole Gardenroute. You can make canoe-tours, swim in the lagoon, hike in the national park or relax on the great beach. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Travelling from Cape Town to East London, we found an amazing place in Wilderness. Our initial intention was to stay for one night only, we ended up staying for five nights and stop over again on our way back. For my three friends and myself Limberlost was simply the perfect place. At the evenings we could walk to the pubs in the village and in the morning we were only a stone-throw away from the canoe-hiring place. Two of us could also do their paragliding thing.
The hosts were always friendly, but not intrusive specially when we had a little hang-over. They have the most amazing dogs, one of them loves sticks so much, that you can't stop playing with her.
The place itself really honours the village's name, you are surrounded by an incredible garden, which has some wild parts as well as stunning flowerbeds. One morning we spotted six Knysna Loeries in one tree and other birds were all over the place ( surely more than we have seen in the National Park! )
We were accommodated in the flat and a double room, which both had king-size beds and were spottlessly cean.
On arrival the hosts gave us some homegrown bananas, which were really yummy, they grow on bananatrees, which size i have only seen before in Asia.
All in all if you are attracted by the name of the village ( Wilderness ) Limberlost is the place to be!
I am sure, we will come back if we travel the Garden Route again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Pleasantly surprised, spent a few days at Stefano and Anjas place recently. I was particulary blown away at the most magnificent park like garden. tranquil, natural and just plain enchanting. The accomodation was tastefully furnished in a practical no nonsense way and spotlessly clean. And the most fantastic shower! The folks were unobtrusive yet readliy available. To me it was exactly how a guest should be in a place called the "Wilderness"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeheim-Jugenheim
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Beautiful house, impressive garden, inimitable hosts... and just a short hop from the beach and lots of attractions at the Garden Route. Limberlost is the perfect place to go, when you want to leave your daily routine behind and just relax. We had a wonderful stay at Limberlost in Wilderness (for the third time and certainly not for the last time).
Best wishes from Germany
Simone, Simone & Katrin

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Very friendly, thoughtful hosts who made us so welcome, with lots of little touches to make our stay special. Will definitely stay there again when we are in the area

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Limberlost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limberlost

Address: Waterside Rd. 380, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house "Limberlost" is the oldest mansion in the village; you will find us just a 2 min. walk from the beach, right at the lagoon. Enjoy pure nature in our infinity garden, shaded by palm trees as old as the "wilderness" itself. Available are 2 attractive double rooms en-suite and 2 charming chalets, which are fully equipped and made to meet all your needs for a convenient and relaxing stay enjoying your precious privacy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Limberlost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.