We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haus am Strand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Haus am Strand to your Saves list
Haus am Strand
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   83 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 50 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay! My husband and I traveled last December (2011) with our 2 teenage girls. The girls had the Garden suite and we had the mini suite. There was a full kitchen in the girls room that was fully equipped. Clean and comfortable all around. There was also internet access at no additional charge, something that is not the case in most of the places we stayed on our SA visit. Fabulous help and service from the managers.Parking is tight but that's not surprising considering the fantastic location for this property right on the beach. We walked just down the road to the Beejuice cafe- you've got to go there if you stay here. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
126
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Thank you Rita for your hospitality, and making us feel so incredibly welcome. Haus Am Strand is right on the beach, very professional and friendly atmosphere. It was very clean and beautifully furnished. I was surprised that it was so well priced for the location. It can easily compete with all the best holiday places on the planet, in terms of setting and view. Its right in the middle of the Garden Route, and a 5 minute walk to town. It was safe, beautiful, makes you want to stay forever. If you were wondering if you should go there, well, we were absolutely blown away. Being a world traveler, I can say this with all of my heart. Once again thank you Rita and Haus Am Strand. Breathtaking and soul reviving.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Things Tourists like. Genuine friendliness. Exceptional Character. Haus Am Strand is the place that we ourselves would always choose to return to on holidays.
Beautifully decorated with care and love.
Natural, unstuffy, humorous hosts, gardens, the artistic, the unusual. We just love this place. The host are doing her best and treat her guests like fellow human beings.
The sea is your big swimmingpool

Room Tip: All rooms have Sea View. Few steps to the beach. Higher floors with Wider Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The perfect accommodation! The perfect surroundings! The perfect hospitality! Haus am Strand is literally a 'stone's-throw-away' from the beautiful and tranquil Wilderness beach. The accommodation was clean, spacious, 'homely' and beyond-friendly hostess, Rita, was always willing to help. Haus am Strand is a MUST-STAY (and the price is ridiculously cheap!!!). Thank you Haus am Strand for an incredible honeymoon

Room Tip: The Garden Room opens up onto the beautiful lawn and breath-taking view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

this is one of the distinct few places that you really get what you see and the friendliest place on earth the apartments are huge and the decorating and everything that matters was done with care and thought for the person staying there this is truly "Heaven on Earth" and the Breakfast on request option is Gr8 and convenient..

Room Tip: all the rooms are with a sea view to die for so take any one you get and keep going back cause one h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We could not have found a more lovely, professional, clean and spectacular place to celebrate our honeymoon. Huis am Strand's owners really went the extra mile to make us (and all of there guests) comfortable, relaxed and at home. The rooms are beautifully decorated, designed to meet your every need! The location is beautiful as the house sits directly on the beach- with the ocean views from your bed and a private direct access to the beach. The house itself is well maintained with manicured gardens and plenty of areas to sit and relax. With the peaceful sounds of waves crashing- this is the PERFECT getaway for couples, young and old.

Thank you for making our honeymoon so memorable! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We where on 3 weeks holiday & stayed here for 2 nights in beach bungalow,it was very roomey with a 32" tv nice lounge & kitchen.The garden was very nice with lots sun loungers,the beach was also very big,but you could not go in the sea as the currents very strong,so with no pool you could not swim.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haus am Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand

Address: 83 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden with grill flowing onto the beach, with sun-loungers for suntaning and relaxing.All apartments are lovely and homely furnished with all comforts like heaters, gowns, Jacuzzis, 5 apartments with kitchen to make your own food, and 2 Suies with facilities to make your own breakfast. If you prefer, you can eat breakfast with free coffee in our partnet-restaurant Cafe-Flava across the road. Sea view from ll our Queenbeds ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Haus am Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haus am Strand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.