We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So tranquil and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichibi Lakeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ichibi Lakeside Lodge
Save
You added Ichibi Lakeside Lodge to your Saves list
PO Box 212 | N2, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So tranquil and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while travelling the Garden Route. It was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay and it felt incredibly restful lazing by the pool looking out over the lake. It was a stunning view. The hosts were wonderful and incredibly accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them. They operated an honesty box at the bar and it was great to be able to help yourself to a far better range and quality of wine than is available at most hotels. The breakfast was delicious and was enjoy on the terrace gazing at the magnificient views. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stop on the Garden Route and chill. We also very much enjoyed Serendipity restaurant which our hosts booked us into one evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Having spent the last 2 weeks travelling around the Garden Route, for our last few days we felt we needed somewhere tranquil to really digest the things we have seen during our trip. Having been thoroughly taken with South Africa generally, and having experienced some of the most breathtaking scenery, animals in the natural environment, Ichibi has been the icing on the cake. When you sit on the veranda watching the sunset, the peacock dance, the fish eagles catch their prey (nature at its best) you could be forgiven for thinking your in heaven... it truly is the most amazing place and by far the best we have stayed in... its worth every one of its 5 stars. The thing that makes Ichibi a cut above the rest is the finese with which things are completed and the attention to detail.... so a very heartfelt thanks to Linda and Marcus, the hosts and their staff, for allowing us the privilege of experiencing Ichibi... We hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

If you desire a true 5 star experience, Ichibi is the place for you!!!!!! We stayed at Ichbi for only two nights, but wow, what an experience!!!!! Our hosts, Marcus and Linda were superb, exceeding our expectations by far. We spent the last two days of our vacation in the most tranquil setting, overlooking a lake and experiencing sheer serenity. The service delivery was of a high standard, one not often experienced. My husband and I feel recharged and relaxed upon our return. We definately plan to spend our next vacation at Ichibi and look forward to experiencing once again what the lodge has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed at Ichibi for 3 nights and wished it could have been longer. This beautiful lodge is perfectly situated along the Garden route and is the ideal place to stop and recharge the batteries taking in fabulous food, scenery and tranquillity. Marcus and Linda could not have done more to make our trip perfectly relaxed and enjoyable. Super high recommendations!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

2 nights at this amazing 5 star lodge was just not enough. I got to that conclusion about 2 hours into my stay and as I write this I'm trying to work out how quickly I can return. My trip to South Africa involved a 2000km round trip on the Garden route to see friends and family. By the time I got to Ichibi I needed a rest. And this, dear readers, is the best place I have ever come across where you could do exactly that!
The lodge has 3 suites, several lounges, a well-stocked honesty bar and a swimming pool that overlooks the lake. I stayed in the Green Suite which was huge and had a walk in double shower where i could easily practice my golf swing!!
Linda and Marcus are perfect hosts and Linda's cooking is to die for. I had 2 evening meals there and they were fabulous!
There are 2 staff on hand during the day who can serve you snacks and make your stay more comfortable. A fabulous breakfast is served at your convenience- (ask for the ommelette!).
The lodge overlooks a lake and it is quite common to see the local fish eagles soaring above you. The resident peacock is always on hand to show you his colourful plume! The tranquillity of the setting easily put me into a slumber mode where all i did was read books, doze and surf on the internet (Yes, it also has wi-fi!).
For the more energetic Marcus can arrange local hikes, game drives and a round on several local golf courses- on this occasion I declined but next time I may well take him up on it!
The small town of Wilderness is only 2kms away and has a host of activities on offer for tourists including several restaurants. Towns like Knysna and Plettenberg Bay are within an hours drive. It's also only 4 hours drive from Cape Town so easily reachable for those wanting a short break away from the rigours of the city.
I would thoroughly recommend this lodge. As a seasoned traveller who has been lucky enough to have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world, Ichibi holds its own and puts some 5 star hotels to shame. Thank you Linda and Marcus for an unforgettable stay!

  • Liked — Its sense of space and tranquillity
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Supercool place

We found the ichibi lodge by pure chance, but boy were we lucky!

We stayed two nights, in the green and the gold room, both were superb!

The scenery is stunning, the house has a superb ambiance and our hosts really made us feel more than at home! This place is te perfect getaway after the intense city life, i would recommend this place to everyone, and I will most likely come back next time I'm in SA.

/nils

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed at Ichibi Lodge in April of this year and what a wonderful experience it was! The lodge is set in the most beautiful, peaceful surroundings - the ideal place to chill out and forget all your troubles. Just sitting out on the verandah watching the fish eagles circle the lake is enough to relax anyone.
The food is fantastic - cooked by the hostess Linda, with evening drinks and hospitality provided by the host Marcus.
The Lodge is small and intimate - with only three double suites available - each suite is of the highest standard - designed and decorated by Linda, all of the bespoke furniture was made by Marcus.
We were surprised on our first morning when we were greeted by the peacock who lives wild on their land but who visits the lodge twice a day to be fed seeds.
They also have a fantastic collection of marmosets - we were lucky enough to be allowed into their compound to feed them - an amazing experience.
Ichibi is an amazing place - a paradise oasis - I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ichibi, Owner at Ichibi Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2008
Thankyou for your kind words , at ichibi we are very lucky to be part of a very special part of the garden route where it is very difficult to try and explain to guests just how tranquil and beautiful it really is , you really need to be hear to experience it , if one could just read our guest book you would get an idea of just how special it really is. It has got to be the most safest , tranquil and beautiful place in the world today. Come and experience the Garden route at ichibi lakeside lodge , an experience you will be able to cherish for the rest of your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ichibi Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ichibi Lakeside Lodge

Address: PO Box 212 | N2, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ichibi Lakeside Lodge is an exclusive 5 star luxury country house on a private estate. It is ideally situated with a picturesque backdrop of the lake making it a perfect wedding venue. Ichibi Lakeside Lodge offers exclusive luxury South African Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the Wilderness, a jewel in the Garden Route. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichibi Lakeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.