We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Girls Restaurant

The Girls Restaurant
1 George Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
+27 44 877 1648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Wilderness
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located in the heart of the Wilderness village, we are a multi award winning, Top 10 Restaurant on the Garden Route. Come and relax in a cosy, African inspired atmosphere highlighted by stunning artwork by local artist, Peter Pharoah. We have an imaginative menu combining high quality local produce with distinctly different flavours. Popular menu items include fresh linefish, succulent prawns, tender steaks and flavoursome curries all cooked to perfection in our open kitchen where you can see the chef at work. Our award winning wine list has been carefully chosen to offer a wide selection of local South African wines to enhance your dining experience. We have handmade crafts in our curio shop upstairs and free Wi-Fi available. We look forward to welcoming at The Girls
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Its a very cozy restaurant with lots of good food. We liked very much tha fact, that a lot of the dishes very special so it was obvious, the the chef really is into cooking! Good service and reasonable prices - we will be back!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    135
    24
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness-South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well done Roxanne and team for being the best restaurant in Wilderness.
We always ask our guests the next morning how their dinner was and we always get the same response:

THANK YOU FOR RECOMMENDING THE GIRLS.

Keep up the good work girls...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Real good mixture of african incredients and modern cooking. Relaxed atmosphere and very good service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A superlative restaurant for all seasons.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This unlikely titled restaurant has to be one of South Africa's finest. Situated bizarrely next to a Caltex petrol station it is an absolute gastronomic gem that must not be missed!

Highly recommended by our B & B, we were collected by shuttle bus, (an extra R30 return), and found ourselves in a medium sized intimate informal restaurant where romantic couples and boisterous parties could feel equally at home. The menu and wine list are extensive and well chosen. The front of house staff intelligent, friendly and efficient. The food however is of the highest possible quality. We have now eaten there two consecutive nights and have been blown away with the quality of the cuisine. The Fish Platter in particular is to die for but whether meat or venison is your preference as opposed to fish, you will not be disappointed . Even the coffee is outstanding. This just has to be one of South Africa's very finest restaurants.
The cost of our meal for two with wine, coffee, three courses each and handsome tip was R700.
If you are within a 100 km. just make the detour and give yourself a brilliant gastronomic treat. You will not regret it - guaranteed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The meal at The Girls was fantastic. The service was wonderful and our waitress was interesting in us, helpful with our choice of meal and overall very friendly.

I had the Meat Trio which was a choice of various meats that were available in the kitchen, lots of interesting choices and all were cooked perfectly. It was great to try some different things and the sauces for each meat were also very tasty. My wife had a Thai curry which was also very flavourful.

Desserts were great too, a creme brulee which will be different each day was my wife's choice and I had the honey cheesecake (fab!)

There are some interesting artwork and crafts upstairs to look at too. In all it was a great evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Girls Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to The Girls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Girls Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.