We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - Great service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Girls Restaurant

The Girls Restaurant
1 George Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
+27 44 877 1648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the Wilderness village, we are a multi award winning, Top 10 Restaurant on the Garden Route. Come and relax in a cosy, African inspired atmosphere highlighted by stunning artwork by local artist, Peter Pharoah. We have an imaginative menu combining high quality local produce with distinctly different flavours. Popular menu items include fresh linefish, succulent prawns, tender steaks and flavoursome curries all cooked to perfection in our open kitchen where you can see the chef at work. Our award winning wine list has been carefully chosen to offer a wide selection of local South African wines to enhance your dining experience. We have handmade crafts in our curio shop upstairs and free Wi-Fi available. We look forward to welcoming at The Girls
Addo, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food - Great service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at "The Girls". The food was fabulous and the service prompt attentive and friendly. The food was well prepared and presented with flair. Will most certainly be back...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    166
    31
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“A feast for the eyes and stomach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This restaurant served great food and gave you plenty to look at whilst you waited. The walls are covered in interesting art work and are bright and colourful. I went here nearly 4 years ago but the fact I still remember it is testamony to how good it was!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, with an African ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good local restaurant, with African inspired decor and a touristy curios shop upstairs. According to my wife, the fillet steak she had here was the best ever. The fish was also good, as well as the dessert (litchis stuffed with ginger, accompanied with ice-cream).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Imaginative and yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The food is obviously made with love and care. My husband had tasty hake encrusted with bread crumbs, and a yummy artful mix of julienned, chopped, and diced wok-fried veggies. I had the veggie platter, a plateful of a variety of tasty and unusual combos such as a large mushroom topped with bleu cheese and pear slices and rambutan stuffed with bleu cheese. The malva dessert was amazing - tasty spices, and with a hard sauce on top. The service was friendly. Upstairs is a store with interesting crafts.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great food, great value, perfect staff! We ate there four nights. We will definately go back when we visit RSA again.....................................

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Girls Restaurant also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to The Girls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Girls Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.