We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, uncomfortable beds and very noisy staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Beach house

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wilderness Beach house to your Saves list
Wilderness Beach house
Western Road, Wilderness, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent place, uncomfortable beds and very noisy staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Wilderness Beach House is a very nice looking backpackers given its price. Its location is prime, with wonderful views of the beach and mountains. It is kitted with a convenient kitchen, pool table, well priced bar, and mini restaurant.

The beds on the other hand, even for a backpackers, are pretty bad. The mattresses are lumpy - a friend of mine slept on his DSLR camera the night we stayed, and didn't even notice, as he assumed it was part of the bed. The pillows are hospital style, about 3cm thick, and the room is very hot.

To make things worse, the receptionist of the backpackers started having a loud, verging on shouting conversation with a friend outside the front door at around 2am. This woke me up, and because the room was so hot, I never got back to sleep again.

The bathrooms are OK. The showers are the artic ocean / fire of Mt Doom type, that take several minutes to regulate but have good water pressure.

Ultimately, I would not recommend this place, unless you are someone who loves the beach and will be able to sacrifice sleep for its beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    31
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
39
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have visited The Beach House regularly over the years and have always found it to be a great place to stay, clean, comfortable and plenty of sea views... stay here! Lots of outdoor stuff to do like hiking and canoeing... it's called Wilderness for a reason!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

One the best places I've ever stayed! It has an excellent vibe, its hosts are nice and make you feel warm and well received. The food is amazing, the rooms have wonderful views and the beds are really comfortable. Annie, the host of this backpackers, is one of the most amazing women I've ever met!

Juliana. Colombia

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I would like to thank Lieze for a wonderful stay at the Beach House. The staff was anything but cold and unfriendly (like I've read in a previous review) ... on the contrary, you guys made me feel right at home. The location is absolutely perfect, close to the beach, shops and restaurants ... and the views from the dorms breathtaking!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This backpackers is perched right above Wilderness Beach, and is about a 10 minutes walk from the small village. Beautiful views, nice property, good location. The dorms were comfortable, roomy, and had an amazing sunrise view. However, the staff I interacted with were rather curt, unfriendly, and not forthcoming. They seemed knowledgeable on the area, but only once probed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

For experienced or dedicated backpacker who like non-party places with friendly staff, nice guest and yummi pizza from the stone-oven this is a great stay for a couple of days.
Only the parking space is a little limited.

Room Tip: Cabin with en-suite small bathroom, a little fridge and a kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The beach house has been a favorite of my partner and mine. Annie runs the joint and is like an adopted mother to her guests. She makes you feel more welcome than you do at home. When we were staying in Sedgefield and Knysna, we would drive back to Wilderness just to have a beer and eat the delicious homemade pizza (usually pizza is on Friday nights). The view from the outdoor chilling area can not get any better! The beach is steps away and if you're feeling adventurous go for a walk down the train tracks. They offer all kinds of sports, guides, & activities. Do yourself a favor and check this place out. You will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Beach house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach house

Address: Western Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wilderness Beach house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Beach house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.