We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manaar House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manaar House to your Saves list
Manaar House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at Manaar for only one night, but it was a great experience! I felt welcome as soon as I arrived. Tina and Wayne helped me out with recommendations and some practical things. The accommodation itself was perfect. Nothing negative to say.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments relating to your stay at Manaar House. We so enjoyed your company and having you to stay at Manaar House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the facilities in the studio self catering unit. We hope that you will pay us another visit in the near future. Best regards Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
74
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in manaar house for a weekend trip to Durban, the location was ideal and the service was impeccable. We loved the recommendation on activities by Tina and Wayne,they were wonderful hosts. Join them if you plan to spend a few days in Durban!

Room Tip: Their none self catering rooms overlook an amazing garden, definitely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for positive review of Manaar House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments are appreciated. We hope to see you both again in the near future.
Kindest regards Wayne and Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Manaar House is definitely one of the best places to stay in Durban/Umhlanga. We stayed there for three nights in the self Catering Apartment. The a/c duplex unit was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and well maintained. Not a single word of criticism worth mentioning here, except maybe that it is located pretty close to the motorway, so having breakfast on the large roof terrace might become a bit noisy. But the best thing to report was the warm, generous and very welcoming hospitality. Tina and Wayne made us not feel like guest but like friends, I daresay they really adopted us. We became part of the family! They arranged everything for us, provided insider's tips on where to go, which the best restaurants were etc. and, though busy with running their business, always found the time for a little chat. The Umhlanga beaches are within a walking distance, but we recommend taking the car as it is not a nice walk. Our overall rating: Excellent value for money. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay at Manaar House and we thoroughly enjoyed your company. We are delighted to hear that Manaar House met with your expectations, and the team at Manaar House look forward to seeing you and the family again on a future visit. Warm regards,
Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Manaar House for 1 night.Family of four(inc two teenage sons)We were on our way to Phinda for safari otherwise we would have stayed longer.Tina and Wayne are fantastic hosts.Super super people.They kindly went and picked up Italian food from a restaurant for us to eat at there guest house as we were to tired to go out.On our trip to South Africa we stayed at three guest houses/bed and breakfast and three sarari lodges.Manaar House was the best of the B&Bs by far!First Class service,food I could go on on.Manaar House with people like Tina and Wayne running the day to day operations should be used as a template for how to run a successful Guest House/Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the compliment and for sharing your positive review of Manaar House. One of our values at Manaar House is to always try to exceed the guests' expectations. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to South Africa and would love you and your family to come and stay with us at Manaar House in the future. Best regards to you and your family - Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Manaar House this past weekend and i have to say im very impressed, Tina and Wayne were great hosts,made us feel comfortable.Totally awesome..Kind people indeed. Their breakfast is not your typical B&B breakfast..lovely

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your warm comments regarding your stay at Manaar House. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. It is our objective to provide our guests with variety and choice with breakfast. We enjoyed having you to stay at Manaar House and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family stayed here one short night and so wished we had more days to stay because we loved this fabulous guest house. Tina and Wayne could not have been more welcoming. We stayed in the 2 story family room which was perfect and very spacious for our family of five. The beach is a quick 5 to 10 walk away through a lovely neighborhood and Tina also offered to drive us to the ocean. Breakfast was wonderful. There is also a nice pool and hot tub. I looked at MANY hotel options and B&B's, we could not have picked a better place to help kick off our South Africa holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManaarHouse, Manager at Manaar House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your delightful feedback. We are so pleased to hear that everything was to your liking. Providing service excellence and ensuring that our guests enjoy their stay at Manaar House is of the utmost importance to us. We would love you to stay for a longer time on your next visit to Manaar House and our beautiful town of Umhlanga Rocks.

Warm regards,
Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had the Family Apartment & it was perfect for us. Very nice 2-level apartment with separate sleeping area for our son & his friend. Great to have the half bath on the main floor but would be nice if there was a ceiling on the main bath upstairs for privacy. This is a beautiful guest house & the breakfasts were fabulous...glad we added those on to our stay. Tina & Wayne were the best hosts that we had while in SA & gave us good info for the area. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: The Family Apartment has a great balcony on the 2nd level that overlooks the busy highway BUT then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManaarHouse, Owner at Manaar House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Manaar House and that Tina and Wayne provided you with special care. Taking care of our customers and ensuring that guests enjoy their stay at Manaar House is one of our core values. Tina and Wayne thoroughly enjoyed your company and we look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Jack, Mark, Tina and Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manaar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaar House

Address: 16 Manaar Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests have the choice of B & B or self catering accommodation. 2 luxury en-suite double bedrooms with full en-suite bathrooms (separate bath & shower) and 2 well appointed self catering units with modern, fully equipped kitchens. All bedrooms / apartments have satellite TV, air-conditioning, telephone, FREE wireless internet facilities and their own private entrance. Self catering apartments are also fully serviced. Barbeque facilities are available. Swimming pool and hot tub. 2 minutes drive to the beach and Umhlanga Centre. 5 minutes drive to Gateway. Secure undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manaar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manaar House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.