We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional BB, well executed and lots of hospitality. Good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvan Grove Guest House

Save Saved
You added Sylvan Grove Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sylvan Grove Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   49 Sylvan Grove | Herrwood Park, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Leeuwarden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional BB, well executed and lots of hospitality. Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Jill and Chris were very helpful. the breakfast was excellent and the value very good. We had a family room with two (small) rooms which is very convenient for families. A bit old fashioned but well maintained. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
20
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Sylvan Grove offers stylish & modern accommodation. It is situated withing walking distance from Umhlanga Village & very short driving distances from other towns, cities & various tourist attractions. Your hosts, Chris & Jill, have managed to create a peaceful & relaxed environment and tends to every request with a smile!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This was our second stay at Sylvan Grove. We returned for a stay as it was so amazing the first time and we were not disappointed. It's a home away from home. Beautiful spacious rooms, impeccably clean with crisp white bedding. Jill and Chris are wonderful hosts. Nothing is a problem and they are always willing to help. My boyfriend and I highly recommend staying at Sylvan Grove and we are certainly going back soon!!!

Kelly Robinson

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I've stayed at Sylvan Grove twice now and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Jill and Chris are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are spacious and well furnished including:
Satellite TV
Mini bar / fridge
aircon conditioning
desk / dressing table
good size en-suit with separate shower and bath

The garden is equally well maintained and provides peaceful and relaxing areas to enjoy the evenings or to take advantage for the lovely clean pool.

Sylvan Grove is a fantastic base and is just 5 mins a way from Umhlanga Rocks and the Gateway shopping mall so there is plenty to see and do in the evenings and lots of choice for dinning out, Jill or Chris are happy to provide lifts when possible or can organise local Taxis.

Breakfast covers everything from cereal and yoghurt to fresh fruit salads and full cooked breakfast and everything in between. Our son loved the plate of fresh melon and strawberry's that Jill prepared every morning for him :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Thank you Chris and Jill for making our stay so wonderful and relaxing. Dont forget to ask Chris to make his awesome pastries.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sylvan Grove Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hi Denise
Thank you very much for taking the time and for the glowing review
Jill and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have stayed here four times now and are in the process of planing our fifth .Sylvan Grove is a friendly haven ideal for holidays in and around Umhlanga rocks.The guest house has everything you could wish for a comfortable stay.The rooms & bathrooms are spotless & beds comfortable.The garden and pool are beautiful & well maintained.We are picked up from the Airport & stay for several nights before moving on to the Drakensberg/St. Lucia/Hluhluwe/Mkuzi.Then return for one night before.Chris drops us of at the airport Chris & Jill have lots of info. for the best places to eat & local attractions.Chris runs a taxi service if required.The breakfasts are ace & the muffins are to die for.Much more enjoyable than a stay at a large impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We travelled to Durban to watch England in the World Cup semi-final. Sadly, the team were anxious to start their holidays so we ended up watching Spain and Germany instead.

The Sylvan Grove proved infinitely more reliable than Fabio Capello's men. It's great strengths were the quality/cleanliness of the accommodation, the gorgeous breakfast, the warmth of Chris and Jill's welcome and the fabulous beach near-ish by, the remarkable Gateway leisure complex, the Sharks board and the feeling of tranquility and safety on site.

On the downside, it's the sort of place where most people would say you need a car. As it happened, we didn't have one: but we don't mind a hilly 20 minute walk to and from the beach or a 30 minute stroll to Gateway (when you get bored of walking, a cab ride back is never more than fifty rand, or £5).

Sylvan Grove is the sort of place where it's affordable to do the things that we generally don't do in hotels (drinks from the minibar at sensible prices? whatever next?) Even better was getting some laundry done - everything feeling as good as new and smelling better.

While in the area - you've got to go and look at the Moses Mabhida stadium (we went to the top in the cable car). It's fabulous. And it brings back the joyous memory of Germany losing to Spain!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sylvan Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Grove Guest House

Address: 49 Sylvan Grove | Herrwood Park, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvan Grove Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvan Grove is a 4 Star Guest House situated in a quiet residential area of Umhlanga Rocks, with a tranquil tropical garden, inviting swimming pool and prolific bird life facing the Indian Ocean. Our double rooms have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers, bar fridges, safes, telephones, wireless internet & satellite TV. The swimming beaches with lifeguards on duty, Gateway Shopping and Entertainment Centre and an extensive choice of restaurants are within a few kilometers. For the sports enthusiasts there are numerous facilities nearby, tennis, bowls, gym, nature walks, deep sea fishing, scuba diving and micro light flying are activities which can easily be arranged. Our coast is renowned for its scenic and world class golf courses. Dolphin and Whale watching, deep sea fishing and scuba diving launch from our local beach. We are a 15 minute drive from the Durban CBD, International Conference Centre, uShaka Marine World, Sibaya and Suncoast Casinos. Umhlanga and La Lucia Ridge Business Parks are close by. The World Heritage Sites of the St. Lucia Wetlands and the Drakensberg Mountains and The Big 5 Game Parks are a 2 hours drive. Children over 4 year welcome. Local and national sight seeing tours arranged. Secure onsite parking. Airport (20km) and local transfers by arrangement. Major credit cards welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sylvan Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvan Grove Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.