We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Durban” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oyster Box to your Saves list
The Oyster Box
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best of Durban”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I travel with two children (5 and 9) who have become quite difficult to impress. Yet, every time we've stayed at The Oyster Box, I've had to drag them (and myself) back home very reluctantly with promises to come back.
This hotel has beautiful views of the Indian Ocean and there's a lighthouse right outside which feels like part of the decor. From the moment you check in to the hard goodbye, the experience here is all five star.

The staff is friendly and attentive. All requests, big and small are met promptly with incredible warmth and a sincere desire to be of service.

Th rooms are on the smaller side, but the sea facing rooms feel a little more spacious if you open the doors and make use of the patios.

The kids club is staffed with amazing people, who seem to really like children and they keep the, well entertained. I sometimes struggled to get my kids to do things outside the hotel.

The food is really good, the restaurant is one of the best in Durban, so early booking is advised as it is also popular with locals. The kitchen staff was happy to make items, not on the menu but that we craved.
I also made use of the gym, although it is small it is more than adequate for a workout - but the best is running along the beach promenade which is clean, safe and absolutely beautiful.

This hotel truly is a home away from home.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are more spacious. Sea facing rooms have spectacular views, but are smaller I. Size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am so happy that you found everything to your liking, in particular the stunning ocean views, friendly staff, the children's holiday club and food in the restaurants.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your "home away from home".

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    84
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
204
393
37
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northcliff, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Oyster Box Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks. A fabulous hotel complete with resident cat! The decor is great. One must book a sea facing room as the view is unsurpassed. Our only complaint was that the area around the swimming pool is a little cramped. Overall a lovely experience with first class service.

Room Tip: book a superior sea facing room - a must even though a bit more expensive. The view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Klarbach,

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the unsurpassed views of the ocean from your sea facing room.

Skabenga, our resident cat and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for over 2 weeks in early February. The staff are exceptional, attentive, friendly always smiling and professional. Well trained staff are a credit to the management, who go out of their way, to make their guests feel at home. Any request is dealt with promptly and efficiently. The food is excellent in each restaurant, the breakfast is by far the best we have had anywhere in the world. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Whilst the sea views are great, the rooms are lovely but not large, the garden rooms tend to be bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Stirling,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your two week stay at The Oyster Box in late January/February.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the food in the restaurants, especially breakfast and in particular the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

My staff are most aware of one of our top service standards "No Request is Too Large, No Detail Too Small".

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to your "home away from home".

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Its what you would expect from a 5star hotel,beautful rooms I spent 4 nights in this hotel it was entry to South Africa the receiption was outstanding friendly staff with their smiles on ,had Curry buffet it was just out of this world....so yummy.not forgeting the heated pools which I loved the most wher I had the best than ever waiters were just on top of their game which I wasn't expecting I had a cocktail Umhlanga shling which was recomended by a waiter who had a beautful smile and told me his name was Blessing which means I was Blessed too and told me he was gona deliver it in a few minutes coz he is faster than a cheater*quote of the trip* of which he did his English was so fluent loved the acsent Blessing in disguiz ,the seaview was so clear ,siting facing the lighthouse,also visited the Spa outstanding,nice view from the terece as well pizzas from the wood oven its standard,overaly I had a nice stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you were completely blown away by the service and friendliness of the staff and that you found your stay enjoyable and memorable.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

On booking in we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded from a classic sea facing room to a sea facing cabana. The room with plantation shutters was charming and the view so amazing. We stayed here for two nights and loved every minute. Breakfast, included in the room rate, was very good catering for a vast array of nationalities. The coffee was especially good, not always the case, even in 5 star establishments. You could choose to sit inside or on the ocean terrace. The staff was friendly and so professional. We had dinner on the ocean terrace and chose the curry buffet, steep at R240 per person, but worth every cent. I tried a little of every curry on the buffet and all were outstanding but first prize goes to the Singapore fish curry. I highly recommend that everyone staying at the Oyster Box gets to try this buffet at least once. We swam in the large pool, as well as the sea of course and we did visit the spa. This tranquil spa has a hammam (sort of Turkish bath) with sensation shower and is highly recommended, we were in there for 30 minutes and emerged calm and relaxed. We also enjoyed the view and Umhlanga Rocks Sling cocktail in the Lighthouse bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your two night stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you loved every minute of your stay, in particular the delicious Singapore Fish on the Curry Buffet, the Hammam in the Spa, the accommodation with the amazing ocean view and the friendly staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon, when you will once again enjoy an Umhlanga Schling in The Lighthouse Bar.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have just returned from 2 nights/3 days stay at the Oyster box. It could not have been more perfect. this hotel has the ability to make one feel at home, pampered, special and totally indulged. I stayed in a sea view suite with breaking waves a stones throw away, ships on the horizon lining up to dock, and a panoramic view of the skyline of Durban. The Hotel is busy but one never feels crowded. The communal areas are very large and there are many private opportunities to sunbathe or swim. I never did get a chance to be pampered in the spa, but will certainly make a reservation for next time, because there certainly will be a next time! I love the way the 'old' Oyster Box was restored without erasing the traces of the past. its as if she has been given a new couture dress and a complete make-over, but she is still the same beauty she always was. Worldclass in every way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enoyed a relaxing and memorable stay, in particular the sea view suite overlooking the ocean.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the restored 'Grande Dame' of Umhlanga in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Oyster Box for a week to end a trip to Sun City and Kruger. Great location. It's an old Colonial style building with a high finish.

Nice pool area to the front and side of the hotel with regular poolside service of drinks and snacks.

The food at the hotel was a good standard, menu could do with some variety though. A daily special would help.

Afternoon tea was good, nearly missed out as a lot of non residents book so I'd recommend booking before arrival to be sure, we had to wait until the end to get a table.

The spa wasn't so good on our visit , a fault with the air conditioning in the treatment room meant it impossible to relax so the massage was spoilt having a constant banging. Slightly annoyed as it was a known problem but thankfully the massage was excellent.

We did change rooms as we had an upgrade deal, had a slight issue at check in but as soon as Management were made aware it was rectified.

Concierge were great, they arranged dinner reservations and car transport there and back. Very efficient and knowledgeable about the local area.

Special thanks to Terrance, Sidney and Craig on the front desk for going that extra mile. Jonathan looked after us in the restaurant & bar, Max & Lionel by the pool did a great job.

Lastly we were quite lucky with the weather, one cloudy day so hit the shops. The mall is great value.

Very, very high UV level there so high SPF - many lobster faces around.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest will leave wishing to return.

Thank you for pointing out the staff members who stood out from a service point of view. I will be sure to thank them for looking after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oyster Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.