We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher Block Umhlanga

Butcher Block Umhlanga
2 Ncondo Place | CNR Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
031 566 3547
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great food , Great Service , Reasonably Priced , would recommend for business or leisure. I would recommend fillet , sirloin and there curry.Small but good selection of wine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Menu selection is very good ranging from the usual meats (pork, chicken and beef).

Service is fast, efficient and friendly.

Overall, very good restuarant to get a bite to eat - worth a try!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Modern setting great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This restaurant is convenient for those staying at the Holiday Inn, the room is modern and the food, excellent especially the steaks and seafood. The chef was attentive and the service was first class

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Room service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Used as a room service venue at the Holiday Inn Express & food was ok, but nothing special. Felt like a curry & ordered that, yet obviously it's not their forte and maybe steak/burger etc would be better choice?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Steak wonderful, sides meh, atmosphere well..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Was taken there by a colleague and expecting a steak restaurant it did not disappoint there at all. I had the 200g filet with the vegetable sides along with a very nice Merlot. The steak was very nicely done and totally met my expectations. The side dish was more mush than a vegetable dish. Mostly over-cooked and limp. Not bad but only ate half which is not usual for me. The atmophere is that of a very open planned room which when it fills up gets extremely loud. Now my host explained to me that is typical for Africa but just for any other visitors from our places I mention it here. I was very happy when we left to the parking lot again. Would I return? Certainly. The steak makes it worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Block Umhlanga also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Block Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher Block Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.