We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Havana

Little Havana
Chartwell Drive | Granada Centre, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
31 561 7589
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Upmarket venue for that special dinner,tatefull decor with well trained waitrons.Suggest that reservation is made as I have been there on week nights and always well supported.
DURBAN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my Birthday dinner here. My father had the Pork Belly and I enjoyed a beautifully cooked steak. I don't recall what my mother had. But I remember the fantastic trio of Snails!
Excellent restaurant, I was however sitting right under the aircon, which was a little bit annoying. The crowd next to us was also quite loud, which I guess can't be helped.

Very expensive, but worth every mouth watering bite of steak!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    60
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best meat in Durban.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Im a restauranture and I rate this wonderful establishment as my favorite " meat " destination ! The meals are creative and generous ! A must for the carnivorous eaters.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANDERBIJLPARK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wow, the best in Umhlanga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I've been here numerous times anything you order is great. Service is fast, attentive and friendly. My favorites are Nachos starter ( you don't get any better, I order this 90% of the time) mains I live the char grilled sword fish, fillet on the bone, baby chicken and the fillet on the bone. However the dish that never disappoints and we (all of us) order all of the time is the dessert of chocolate fondant WOW I live it. Expensive but worth it.
Regards
Marco

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday Carol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I checked out this place before our trip and could not have been more impressed. I decided that we would celebrate her birthday here and they could not have been more helpful. Their website makes planning an event very easy and for larger groups (we were only 5) they have a separate room available.

The ambiance and decor were lovely with an open air balcony out onto the main thoroughfare through Umhlanga Rocks - though we were inside. The staff were attentive to all our needs from arrival to departure. As there were five of us I will not go into the details of what everyone ate suffice to say that there was no dissatisfaction from any of the diverse palates.

All in all a great place for a great meal

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful venue with the feel of fine dining. Staff well trained. Excellent steaks - steaks brought to you where staff explain the different cuts of meat and make recommendations. Extensive menue and wine list.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Havana also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Little Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.