We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of uMhlanga Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added uMhlanga Sands Resort to your Saves list
uMhlanga Sands Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Pretoria
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent service and location friendly and very helpful staff room very comfortable and modern food quality excellent good value for money the resort is well maintained loads of entertainment for the kids

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    66
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
126
61
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The rooms might have been a bit small but the resort was buzzing, the service not bad at all and the activities for everyone. Location is great and parking easy. I will definitely stay there again but with 4 of us in one (family)room it was too small...and with one toilet it was too much with all the beach sand etc to keep clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Resort should offer halaal food in restaurants as there are many Muslim families that book in. We had to go out to look for halaal food. Such an inconvenience.

Being a 4 star resort they should also offer more toiletries like shampoo, bubble bath, tissues, sanatry bags on so forth, which other 3 star resorts offer.
Apart from this, the resort is good and I will recommend the resort to my friends and families. I have been there twice already and will go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Enthusiastic staff,eager to please.
Safe environment and no transport required for a relaxing beach holiday with plentiful affordable restaurants in the immediate area.
Free shuttle to Casino and major Shopping Mall.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

At times parking was a problem. Parking area seemed to be full at all times.
Otherwise no problems.
Enternaintment very good, really enjoyed the attmosphere.
Room could have been a lot bigger. Service at the table was very good.
Bedroom well serviced. staff very friendly, Enjoyed the visit, would deffinitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at umhlanga sands resort as it was my honeymoon. i love umhlanga as I stayed here ever since I was little. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. it was comfortable service was great it was safe.



  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great place to stay, excellent view to the ocean and great staff that are willing to help the guest at anytime. The place is clean and entertaining with live music during the dinner time. I will recommend the place to my friends.




  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to uMhlanga Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about uMhlanga Sands Resort

Address: 44 Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — uMhlanga Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort located mere steps away from the pristine Umhlanga beachfront, the Umhlanga Sands Timeshare Resort is the perfect location for travellers looking for something out of the ordinary. Sporting easy access to all the major tourist attractions as well as fantastic facilities geared towards holiday activities, the Umhlanga Sands is a perfect destination for families seeking self-catering Timeshare accommodation in KwaZulu Natal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your uMhlanga Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umhlanga Sands Lifestyle Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Umhlanga Sands Hotel
Umhlanga Rocks Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage uMhlanga Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.