We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beverly Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beverly Hills to your Saves list
Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Lighthouse Rd, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was blown away by this hotel! It is beautiful, spacious, cosy, the food is very good and the staff kind, friendly, with personlized touch! The pool is stunning, with views on the Indian Ocean and the light house. The garden lounging chairs are perfect, with water, magazines and sunscreen at disposal. The breakfast has a very wide choice of fine foods (incl. champagne!), to eat inside or on their beaufiful terrrace. Internet connexion is fast, cocktails delicious. One other main advantage of this hotel is its location, right on the beach, with access to the alkway that takes you along the beach for runs or walks, and it is safe during the day. I would for sure go back to this particular hotel, this is now one of my two favorite places in the world, and I travel a lot!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is our privilege to serve and take pride in offering the little extras. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Warm regards General Manager, John de Canha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    66
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
71
115
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Claude is so charming and a real asset to the hotel... Thank you for an amazing stay... Lead by an incredable GM - John, you are just the best! Location of this hotel is in one of the most beautiful areas, on the beach frount and the place to be..

Room Tip: Rooms that have a balcony and seating area over looking the sea are just the best.. Love the Beverly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review .We get much pleasure from reading your compliments which motivate all of us to keep striving for the best service. We are glad you agree that our location is simply stunning and we hope to see you back very soon . Kind regards John de Canha General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I travel a lot at work and stayed in numerous hotels. But I never had a better hotel experience than Bevely Hills !
Its evident that the location on the beach and the setting with sea-view is a great start and very attractive. But you often find the service in attractive location a bit more to wish for. Not here, the service level is incredible with the friendly staff omnipresent and competent. Rooms, pool, breakfast, afternoon and evening live music - all at highest level. Attention to detail; chilled towels in a fridge in the gym...

Will try to come back and very happy to recommend this hotel to anybody !

Mats Ahnlund
Geneva
Swityerland

Room Tip: If i understand right, all rooms have sea view. I stayed at top-floor and it was great, but there se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Mr Uhnlund Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree, we have the most beautiful setting. We pride ourself in intuitive professional service and thank you for the compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de canna and the Beverly Hills team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanseria, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I surprised my wife with two nights at the Beverly Hills hotel for her birthday. We traveled as a family with our two sons, 4 years old and 10 month old, and their Nana after having enjoyed a week at the Umhlanga Sands. I booked the inter-leading family rooms which were fantastic and upon arrival we found fruit platters and a welcome back letter from the general manager which was a nice touch as we had stayed there before.

Prior to this, whilst sipping champagne, during our check-in I mentioned to the lady at the front-desk that it was my wife's birthday and a complete surprise as we had been due to travel back that day. Immediately as we arrived in the room there was a knock on the door and my wife was presented with a delicious chocolate mousse birthday cake and bottle of sparkling wine with compliments of the Beverly Hills Hotel. Needless to say my wife was over the moon and had a super special birthday.

The Beverly Hills is a great hotel and these fantastic small touches is what sets it apart.

My only gripe was the Sugar Club restaurant was disappointing. My fillet was average and I had to remind the waiter that it was supposed to be accompanied with sauce Bearnaise for which he had to check the menu to confirm the fact. Even though he had clearly forgot to bring the sauce, because it was more like scrambled egg when it arrived, he offered no apology. We were further disappointed when we ordered crepes Suzette for desert and he told us "they had run out of pancakes". Really? A five star establishment\chef that cannot make more crepes? It seemed more likely to be the expedient excuse of a lazy maître d' who did not fancy the effort of guiredon service. As a result we had no desert and were left without the sweet satisfying taste in our mouth that the Sugar Club was renowned for in our minds.

As an aside, we ate at the Oyster Box Grill Room restaurant which was far better fine dining than the Sugar Club and managed to serve outstanding crepes Suzette no problem.

The rest of our meals we ate at the Elements bar\cafe which were 5 star, in particular the traditional Durban lamb curry, and clearly a different chef to the Sugar Club. Overall our stay was superb and if it was not for the disappointing meal at the Sugar club it would have 5/5 rating.

Room Tip: 6th floor family inter-leading room great when traveling with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted you chose the Beverly Hills for your wifes birthday celebration but saddened and disappointed to learn of your Sugar Club experience. Your points have been raised and corrective measures have been taken in our restaurant to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards John de Canha and the Beverly Hills team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a family weekend and was so impressed by the service. Nothing was too much trouble, especially when it came to the children. They assisted with screaming babies, special requests and all with a smile. The accomodation is lovely and comfortable; they also have great little touches like getting your drinks requirements ahead of time so your room is stocked before you arrive. There is a lovely pool and very easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: I would request a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Lori045 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad you could enjoy family time at the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards General Manager, John de Canha .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I haven't stayed in the Beverly Hills as I only live down the road, however.....
I have been there for breakfast a few times and it is absolutely stunning!
With a buffet to start with of plenty of hams, cheeses, crackers,cereal, fresh fruits, breads, muffins and juices, followed by a full a la carte breakfast menu, you can't help but be impressed.
Their eggs benedict is delicious, and to sit out on the deck in the morning and watch the whales/dolphins swim by before work is just the perfect way to start your day!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast with us.the dolphins have been very busy of late and we have enjoyed many sightings. we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my husband went on holiday and was spoiled by the staff of Beverly Hills Hotel. on my birthday we've been surprised with a chocolate-mouse birthday cake, champagne, strawberries and cream. they made us feel very special and welcome and took 1 step further than most of the hotels we stayed in. thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, Public Relations Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
thank you for celebrating your birthday at the Beverly Hills . We're glad it was memorable! We look forward to celebrating other milestones with you at the Bev! warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beverly Hills

Address: 54 Lighthouse Rd, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#3 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beverly Hills 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umhlanga Rocks is one of South Africa’s premier leisure destinations. Boasting glorious weather, loads of attractions and glorious golden beaches it’s easy to understand why. For luxurious holiday accommodation and all rooms facing the indian Ocean,the Beverly Hills Hotel, with its picture perfect setting and marvelous facilities, is the hotel for discerning travelers. Step in side and you will sense you have arrived at a very special place. A landmark iconic hotel renown for professional intuitive service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beverly Hills Umhlanga Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beverly Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.