We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Umhlanga to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

As always, this hotel is a great place to stay. Its clean, the rooms are really good, the staff friendly and most helpful, and the location is excellent. It's right on the Umhlanga activity corridor with an abundance of pups, restaurants and cafes with an incredibly vibey atmosphere. The beach is a short walk down the road.

Room Tip: Higher up, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear GusBehn

Once again thank you for a great write up, you are truly a Protea Hotel uMhlanga ambassador.

Look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
26
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Udine, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed 1 night at the protea hotel, umhlanga. Our room was big but our view was overlooking the roof of the shopping area. It is close to the beach though and good value for the price paid. I would not exactly recommend it for a romantic stay, but for a business trip it works.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, not overlooking the parking/ Mall roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Elkspitt

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. Our large spacious rooms are all semi self-catering, equipped with bar fridge, microwaves, crockery and cutlery. Situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Rocks village, within walking distant to the beach and nearby restaurants.
Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It is indeed home away from. we stayed there with my family from 08th - 12th Jan and we enjoyed every minute of it. The room was really spacious and accommodated both my two children comfortably.The staff was really helpful at al times especially Rhudzani from reception....Wil definitely stay there again next time I am in Durban...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mapheko L

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga. Our large semi self-catering rooms are equipped with bar fridge, microwaves, crockery and cutlery, perfect for family visits. Situated in the heart of the uMhlanga Rocks village, within walking distant to the beach and nearby restaurants.
It is great to hear that you received great service from the STAFF, I will comment Rudzani on a job well done.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel uMhlanga in the near future, your home away from home.
Kind regards

Sylvia De Fries
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in the beginning of november 2013. The staff was verry kind, rooms are spacious, but not of a high quality. In our room was a magno which can be nice if you stay longer and want to warm up some food. Breakfast was good although simple, location near the beach and lots of restaurants is perfect. The pool on the roof is nice but verry small. The parking needs to be payed for extra! There are lots of shops in the same area for which you only have to walk out of the hotel! There are better hotel options in the same area. Protea hotels is quit a large group of hotels. Upgrading their hotel in Umhlanga would really make it far more attractive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Klave2203
Thank you for comments on your recent November 2013 stay at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga.
We appreciate your comments on our STAFF and spacious room. All rooms at the Protea Hotel uMhlanga are semi self catering, all equipped with microwaves, bar fridges, crockery and cutlery. Protea Hotel uMhlanga is situated in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, close to a variety of restaurants and within walking distance to the beach.
Protea Hotel uMhlanga will be undergoing a refurbishment during 2014 which we are really excited about, as we are the only 3 star hotel in the uMhlanga Rocks village.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind Regards

Sharon Wessels
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

perfect for a quick stay .
shops and resturnts located very close.
room has excellent size, petty hotel built in wrong direction so views of ocean limited.
very clean , and ameneties in room perfect.
staff very freindly and helpfull.
sound from next room not that well insulated.
overall very nice stay, no problems

Room Tip: choose the highest rooms for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Ashley D

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga. Situated in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks, close to shops and restaurants. The perfect hotel location allows one to walk to the beach, the swimming beach is only a 10 minute walk.

Our large spacious rooms allow for families, 2 adults and 2 children and they are also semi self catering, all rooms are equipped with microwave, bar fridge, crockery and cutlery, perfect for a night in.

Protea Hotel Umhlanga strives for GUEST service and we are happy that your found our STAFF to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards
Sharon Wessels

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is a home from home. I hate mothball places and this is not one of them. This is new, modern, comfortable and CLEAN. I opted for self catering rooms and we were thrilled with the very large room, with kitchen, bedroom and lounge. The position of the hotel is prime and where it all happens. Umhlanga is a resort town, with the best nightlife and restuarants. Love it, and this hotel made it more special.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear r0se123456

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga. We appreciate your positive feedback on our large semi self catering rooms which are equipped with microwaves, bar fridge, crockery and cutlery.

The location of the hotel in the “heart” of the Umhlanga Village, allows one to park their vehicle and be able to walk to the numerous restaurants, shops and the beach.

Once again we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Sharon Wessels
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Protea Hotels across the continent on my travels, I had no hesitation to use Protea Umhlanga for needed weekend accommodation with my family recently. Being in Umhlanga, I expected a better than normal experience but was not impressed. The staff were friendly and polite and while the rooms were clean and comfortable, the hotel is badly designed and you feel more like you are in a block of flats than a hotel. Bathrooms have no ventilation other than a window that opens out onto the passage, their is no room service and the only meal available is a fairly pricey breakfast. The TV channels are very limiting and the air-conditioner did not really give much power in its cooling.
Being in Umhlanga, this hotel has lots of potential but you need to look at making it a better hotel experience Protea.
A hotel like Protea Ryalls in Malawi, for example, puts you to shame here and I'm struggling to see how this can be a 5 star rating on TripAdvisor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelUmhlanga, General Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear David B
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga.
We are sorry to read that you did not have a “better than normal experience”.
Protea Hotel Umhlanga offers daily breakfast and there is a vast amount of restaurants to choose from within 50 metres of our reception. We are situated in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks village, within walking distance of the beach.
Presently we are in the process of planning a major upgrade to the hotel in 2014. All public areas will be upgrade, our restaurant and bar will be moving down to the ground level. We will also be upgrading all of our bedrooms and bathrooms.

Kind regards
Sharon Wessels
ASSISTANT GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Address: Cnr Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#7 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
uMhlanga Rocks, near Durban in Kwa-Zulu Natal, evokes a vision of golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of the world. The 3-star Protea Hotel Umhlanga is where that vision turns to reality.Conveniently situated mere minutes from the protected beach and only 10 minutes away from Durban in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the Protea Hotel Umhlanga offers friendly and comfortable accommodation. Most of the well-appointed rooms have sea-views and all are comfortably furnished. Admirably equipped semi self-catering rooms, as well as facilities for disabled GUESTS, are available at this 3-star hotel. The Protea Hotel Umhlanga serves delicious breakfasts on site and is situated in close proximity to a variety of restaurants catering for all tastes and budgets. Conference facilities are available with well-trained and professional STAFF catering for every need. Secure, undercover parking on the premises is also available. For adventure and sports enthusiasts there are lots of activities nearby. There are the classics like tennis, bowls, golf and squash; and then there are the daring like deep-sea fishing, scuba diving and horse riding. After all that, return to the hotel pool on the rooftop to lie under the African sun and take in the sea air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.