We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel excellent locaton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Umhlanga to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Umhlanga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Durham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel excellent locaton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nice hotel in the heart of Umhlanga Rocks, within walkin distance of all the restaurants, shops, bars and beach...@ 15 km from airport and @ the same to centre of Durban...Free 100mb wifi per day which will last you no problem with your smart phone but not very expensive if you require more...breakfast was very nice with a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
31
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is average. Rooms are big enough and there are kitchen facility but AC very old and very noisy. You can not sleep well. On the other hand, hotel location is great. Plenty of bars, pubs, shops near by. Also you can reach the ocean beach by 10 minutes walk. Internet facility is limited, every day you have right to have couple of Mb voucher nothing else.

Room Tip: Ask them to get silent room with new AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzini, Swaziland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for ten days. Enjoyed each and every day I stayed at the hotel. The hotel has partial sea views and is a block away from the beach. The customer service is excellent and breakfast is great. There is a lot of restaurants near the hotel and the Gateway Mall is just above a kilometer away.

The 100 Mb internet access per day is also a nice add on. The one disappointing thing is the daily charge for the hotel parking, I think its a bit expensive.

Otherwise enjoyed my stay, even more running on the beach in the morning.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have sea view, so do ask for a room with sea view if you want one during check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

After a 2 week tour of South Africa staying in B & Bs and Guest Lodges which were all superb, we were very disappointed with this hotel,. It was literally an overnight stay, but although we had booked 6 months before, we were told a doubled-bedded room was not available. We stood our ground and after about 15 minutes of insistence and receptionist on computer and phone, we were in fact given the specified room - a magical turnaround! To be fair, the rooms are very large and equipped for self-catering, but we had ants in the bathroom. As it was only for one overnight stay, we didn't complain about this, but ....... Although we were at breakfast 30 minutes after it opened, all the food was cool and nothing like the quality we had been used to in our travels. Quite a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naveshnie, Manager at Protea Hotel Umhlanga, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
I refer to the GUEST comments you kindly posted after your stay at the Protea Hotel Umhlanga. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Umhlanga is viewed in a serious light.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your check-in, due to limited KING rooms being available. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Umhlanga is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,

Sharon Wessels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Harcourt, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We(my family) stayed in family suite which was quite clean and well serviced. the staff was cautious and ready to make our stay very comfortable. The location is very good with the gateway mall offering everything that makes a good holiday. from exquisite shops to cinema to dining facilities with the most relaxing sceneries.

Parking was also very good and well organised.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 4th floor on a corner room. this was very quiet and devoid of human traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

After staying at various guest houses during our honeymoon we found this hotel a little disappointing. The rooms were big but we were onthe 8th floor and it was hot and the sir con didn't work properly so we had to resort to opening the window for air.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Hotel is centrally located in Umhlanga village amongst shops and reasturants and a few minutes stroll to the beach. The rooms are large and clean with a small kitchenette. The staff are friendly, polite and efficient. The only disappointment is the roof top gold fish bowl that doubles as a swimming (splash) pool. It is extremely small for a hotel of this size and i only saw about 10 sun beds in the pool area. The breakfast i thought was expensive but there are plenty resataurants in the area that serve breakfast. I will definately stay here again as i found the hotel extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Umhlanga

Address: Cnr Lighthouse & Chartwell Drive | Protea Mall, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
uMhlanga Rocks, near Durban in Kwa-Zulu Natal, evokes a vision of golden beaches, lush surroundings and the exhilaration of holidaying in an idyllic part of the world. The 3-star Protea Hotel Umhlanga is where that vision turns to reality.Conveniently situated mere minutes from the protected beach and only 10 minutes away from Durban in the heart of uMhlanga Rocks, the Protea Hotel Umhlanga offers friendly and comfortable accommodation. Most of the well-appointed rooms have sea-views and all are comfortably furnished. Admirably equipped semi self-catering rooms, as well as facilities for disabled GUESTS, are available at this 3-star hotel. The Protea Hotel Umhlanga serves delicious breakfasts on site and is situated in close proximity to a variety of restaurants catering for all tastes and budgets. Conference facilities are available with well-trained and professional STAFF catering for every need. Secure, undercover parking on the premises is also available. For adventure and sports enthusiasts there are lots of activities nearby. There are the classics like tennis, bowls, golf and squash; and then there are the daring like deep-sea fishing, scuba diving and horse riding. After all that, return to the hotel pool on the rooftop to lie under the African sun and take in the sea air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Protea Umhlanga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.