We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel

The Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel
2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here while staying at the Oyster Box Hotel. The service is fantastic with a very charming waitress, excellent on-the-ball manager and a knowledgeable sommelier. The food is delicious. From the amuse bouche to the desert, we loved everything. All in all, the price was reasonable for what we received. We will definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    37
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DINING EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend celebrated her 60th birthday we booked at the The Grill Room
The service, food, music and staff were awesome
Thank you Oyster Box for the awesome experience

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

one of the best fine dining restaurants in town, service and food is always great...
Very intimate, great for the special occasion or to impress your partner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful curry buffet and Calamari.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ate here with my wife in May. Food was wonderful, I was showed round the buffet by our waiter and it was a thorough review! Got a couple of nan breads on separate occasions, chefs brought both to my table so I didn't have to wait. Fish curry and Lamb curry in particular were top notch, and I have eaten a lot of curries! Go hungry, you can have as much as you want.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This is truly a fine dinning restaurant by any standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Cuisine, atmosphere, staff, quality. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone with a fine palate visiting the area

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grill Room at the Oyster Box Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.