We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Umhlanga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Court Umhlanga to your Saves list
Garden Court Umhlanga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Aurora Drive and Centenary Boulevard, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent service and accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

we hired a car and were able to drive wherever we wanted to in the area.
umshlanga is a a lovely part of north coast Durban and very different to central Durban beachfront. our hotel was not close enough to walk to the beach but a short trip by car. we could easily negotiate our way to the large gateway shopping centre nearby.

we are a couple in our sixties and stayed over a few nights after taking a cruise up to Mozambique. we enjoyed our stay very much and the hotel was excellent.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandDiener, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Good Day

Thank you kindly for the positive response and I hope we can welcome you back to Umhlanga very soon

Kind Regards
Roland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    56
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
65
30
2
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Picked this hotel because my Grandchildren who are 13 could stay free and have free breakfast as long as they shared a room with us. The room was fine with every thing we needed. We were on the 4th floor and had a lovely sea view In room 444. The bonus was the free underground car park and very good security. The staff were all helpful. If you have small children they have a small pool and sand area for them which Is In the shade .away from the large pool. Nice for the little ones. Loved our stay In Umhalanga.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandDiener, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Good Day

Thank you for the kind words and positive response.

If I may, the rating was totalled at 1, which would indicate your dissatisfaction rather then satisfaction as the higher the score the better.

We take our guest satisfaction very personally and take pride in making every guest feel special.

Thanks
Roland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel is very modern , clean and feels very 4 star. The bedroom was spacious and bathroom was well designed and did not feel cramped. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent especially with tr vegetarian choices. Pool was very inviting - but there should be a warning for kids not to be rowdy at 7:3o on a Sunday morning. Will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandDiener, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Adhir

Thank you for the positive response and valued feedback, it is always appreciated.

Kind Regards
Roland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Beside ticking all the boxes important to my wife and I while staying at a hotel, the level of service at Garden Court Umhlanga exceeded our expectations.
The reception staff are simply the best! Requests for transport were prompt and the drivers friendly and most obliging.
We have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone seeking an excellent hotel on the North Coast of KwaZulu Natal.

Room Tip: If you would like to see the huge number of ships anchored off Umlanga, ask for a room on the 4th/5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandDiener, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Ivor,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for your kind words, it is always appreciated when our efforts are recognised.

Kind Regards
Roland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vryheid, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

using your facility is always good and I enjoy it especially because its at the biggest mall in KZN and next to the airport, so its easy to move around Durban. I also know you can't do anything about it but your rooms are small hence there are no space for couch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Well this hotel has my vote for best hotel in the region. Just perfect, Cost effective, super clean and a staff complement that I must say will challenge any hotel for best service. Have not enjoyed a stay quite like this in long time! Well done team. Coming back soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just Great Service from the food to the room to the parking and staff are the best and Ahmed the Duty Manager just ROCKs I will always stay at Garden Court Umhlanga even if it is with my family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Address: Corner Aurora Drive and Centenary Boulevard, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.