We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Garden Court” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court Umhlanga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Garden Court Umhlanga to your Saves list
Garden Court Umhlanga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Aurora Drive and Centenary Boulevard, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“The Best Garden Court”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is by far the best Garden Court I have been too. Friendly Staff and welcoming. Complimentary Parking. Lovely Rooms. Carpets don't stink like others. Slightly bigger toilet and shower facilities. Is it me or the breakfast on the go has more breakfast!! Its a simple hotel providing the best welcome and environment a traveller needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you bcak in the not too distant future. Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    73
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
90
38
3
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A neat clean hotel with friendly staff. We arrived early and the lady at reception was very pleasant and found us a room so we could unpack. Lovely breakfast included in the price.Enjoyed our weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Warm regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Many plus points; friendly staff, very new and clean, good rooms (and aircon), great location, quiet, good food (albeit typical large hotel "buffet style"), free car parking (although not entirely sure it should have been(?!).

It's nothing particularly special, but overall represents good value for money and based on my experience, is well ahead of some of the competition in the Gateway area of Umhlanga.

Disappointed that the WiFi wasn't free - not even in the lobby. The hotel says it's available for a "nominal" fee but this is obviously some new use of the word "nominal" that I was previously unaware of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Warm regards from the Garden Court Umhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Staff are Friendly, Food is Excelent, Conveniently located, Walking Distance to Gateway Shopping Center, 5 Min Drive to the Beach Front, Hotel Decor and Rooms are Beautiful.

Overall an Excellent choice.

Room Tip: Select a Room with a view to the Swimming Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arishas, Deputy General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Warm regards from the Garden Court uMhlanga Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Garden court for four days whilst on holiday in Durban. The hotel is closely situated to the Gateway shopping centre. We took inter leading rooms which worked very well. The hotel seems very new and the rooms are very neat. The breakfast are good and lasts upto 10 in the morning. There is a few negatives for this hotel though - there is no porter service to assist with luggage. When I addressed this with the front desk I was told this is a three star hotel and you need to sort your own luggage out. The staff is not overly friendly as well, it is as you are doing them a favor staying there.
Overall, not bad, but there is room for improvement.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent a night on a business trip, great location and great hotel. Staff are very friendly and rooms are great. Walking distance to gateway shopping centre lots of restaurants and shopping

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent condition, the rooms are amazing and the staff is very friendly and willing to assist! I forgot my jacket in the hotel room and when I called, the hospitality staff confirmed it and kept it safe until I arranged for a courier to collect and deliver it to me. I appreciate their excellent customer service, keep up the good work! Will always consider them as first option when I travel to Umhlanga!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Umhlanga

Address: Corner Aurora Drive and Centenary Boulevard, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary interior design of fusing water features. The colours and textures of natural reed, sets the mood of the newly opened Garden Court uMhlanga. This hotel is ideally situated in uMhlanga Rocks. Within close proximity to the Gateway Shopping Centre and popular uMhlanga beaches. The hotel offers spacious guest areas with business and internet facilities to cater for business travelers.The hotel boasts a lush courtyard that offers guests a heated pool with a play-ledge for young children to enjoy. The gym facility on the 5th floor will ensure that health fanatics are also catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.