We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LORD PRAWN

LORD PRAWN
Shop 9 Umhlanga Plaza | Lagoon Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
+27(0)31 5611133
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

After reading the great reviews of this restaurant we decided to try it. There is quite many choices in the menu and I opted for a seafood platter for one - which was good to average - nothing memorable about it (perhaps only the price as it was the most expensive meal I had in South Africa, but it did include a small lobster). My husband ordered a prawn curry which he was happy with. Service was average to poor, we didn't feel particularly welcome and perhaps it was the least friendly and welcoming of all establishments we experienced in South Africa. It was a busy night but not overly busy I would say, judging from the other reviews I can only hope this was a one off average experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hazyview, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Probably the best seafood i have ever eaten in a restaurant! great experience and great staff. definitely will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, old world comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Had the 1kg prawn special and shrimp salad - a real blast from the past. Great prawns and the salad dressing really took us back to 1982 - tangy and strong! Restaurant was packed at 19:30 and half empty by 20:30. Definitely worth a try!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lived up to its reputation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Went there out of curiousity, at the beginning of our Easter break, after wolving down two beers and a plate of chips on the beach. The waiter recommended the Million $ platter for two, to be shared between two adults and two teenagers. Brilliant! The mini lobsters were succulent, the calamari perfectly grilled and the prawns exactly what we came for. All in all well worth the visit. I would recommend it if you're In the mood for seafood. No surprise Lord Prawn has been around for 37 years...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been to this restaurant many times before. The seafood always tasted fresh and it was great value for money. Unfortunately not this time. Nothing tasted fresh. It was like it was frozen before cooked. Very disappointing.

Service was great.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LORD PRAWN also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to LORD PRAWN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LORD PRAWN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.