We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arranged a one night stop over in Umhlanga and based on price and reviews chose Holiday Inn Express. Nestled between office like buildings not far from the motorways we found the Hotel to be very clean and very well fitted out with some really cool decor. We were there on what appeared a quiet Friday and surmised that this is a popular place for business people. The hotel is located away from the main hub of Umhlanga but there is a good road where you can walk to the beach. If you opt for a tax in place of the walk this will cost you five dollars. Comfortable room, small but well fitted bathroom and a very decent breakfast. In summary a very acceptable abode and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Wi-Fi Router,

We are so thrilled that you chose our Holiday Inn Express Durban Umhlanga for your one night stop over. Thank you for your lovely feedback - it is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    77
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
30
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel is located in a great place. you have the gateway mall just behind you. the night life of umhlanga is good . its a small property and the rooms are also very small . but i had a nice view of open space as i had asmall balcony.
it was close to airport so a good choice.

Room Tip: the rooms are all same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear VanessaP4

Thank you for your positive review on our Holiday Inn Express Durban-Umhlanga. We are indeed extremely fortunate to be situated in such a prime location with Umhlanga Beaches within close proximity, Gateway Theatre of Shopping within walking distance our our KingShaka International Airport a mere 15 minutes drive away. Again, thank you for your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel within the near future.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very good service; professional ; helpful !
Convenient ; close from mall; hospital ; beach; and loots of restaurant!
Very close from Airport and high way!
Excellent for family holiday !
Price value , I'll go back and recommend !
Very nice breakfast !

Room Tip: Any room! The staff there will know how to make the stay easy for u and your family! They will hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Grace N,

Thank you for your extremely positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Expresss Durban-Umhlanga. We are so thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful experience at our Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a poor check in experience with crowds of people trying to check-in and the check-in staff seemed a bit confused. Our room had twin beds and a side view of the sea but the pictures for the wall were on the floor along with the nail and the plaster that once held them in place. We had no remote control for the TV either. The handyman did repair the pictures and found us a remote control then we tried to order dinner. The in-house restaurant Butchers Block menu is provided in the room. We phoned down and placed our order and were told they would call us when it was ready and we could collect our food at reception. After one hour we had heard nothing so another call resulted in having to give the order again! 10 minutes later reception called and told us we had to come down and pay for the food - it could not be added to our bill - we duly went down to pay, collect our food. On getting back to the room the food was stone cold and tasted awful. We were so disappointed with it all that we dumped it in the bin. Breakfast was good!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Lorraine B,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay with us in December.

I am glad that you found our breakfast enjoyable. We are very fortunate to have a stunning set up in our Breakfast Room which enables our guests to enjoy the spectacular ocean views. I do sincerely apologies for the maintenance concerns, however, I am pleased to read that our every friendly maintenance team was on hand to rectify the situation for you.

Our aim is to constantly strive to provide superior services and accommodation and it is unfortunate when instances transpire which result in our normal high level of service not being achieved, for this I do sincerely apologise.

We know you have many choices when it comes to choosing accommodation, and we do hope that you will keep using Holiday Inn Express for your travels.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are seriously curious why this establishment apparently received respectable ratings from many guests, akin to Count Dracula's hostelry receiving rave reviews from vampires.

We booked to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Umhlanga over the weekend from 18-21 Jan 2013 and booked it via Booking.com. We expressly asked for a smoking room with a double bed and a bath. Obviously, nobody even bothered to look at this or paid any attention. When we arrived, we were told that no rooms in the inn had a bath. I pointed out that this fact was nowhere stated on the hotel's web pages, and that we had put in a special request for a bath and not a shower.This met with shrugged shoulders, vague statements and lame excuses. However, since there was a room at the inn, and it had a double bed, and we were tired, we accepted the room anyway. Big mistake.

While we were unpacking, a booming voice over the central loud-speaker system suddenly commanded us to "Vacate the room at once because of an emergency" (or words to that effect). Alarmed, we rushed down the stairs, only to be met by some staff in hard hats and clipboards who formed a sort of "safety commitee", who assured us that this was only a fire drill for staff, and that guests could go back and finish their unpacking. When asked why nobody bothered to inform us of this when we checked in only a few minutes before, we only got big vacant looks and shrugged shoulders. But more exitement lay in store.

After complaining at the desk about this, someone muttered some vague sounds presumably meant to be an apology. Later, we found a letter from the "Guests Services Manager" offering her sincere apologies for "the inconvenience caused" by the evacuation drill, and the fact that they were unable "to assist with this request [for a bath] as we do not have any baths". Hearteningly, it is apparently their goal to "consistently provide superior service and accomodations", as we have that in writing. So baths, apparently, are not superior, but a shower with a slippery, wet floor is. Also, not responding to customers' booking requirements is not that essential either. The Guest Services Manager never bothered to contact us personally to hear our side of the story, nor did she leave a contact number. Seeing that it was the weekend, she presdumably thought she deserved some R&R. Probably spent it in a good hotel with baths, room serive and staff who pay attention when a customers asks for some service.

Let me not bore you with the further discovery that they also do not provide room service (but they do bring things they themselves forgot, like sugar and coffee sachets, etc. although that may take quite some time, and your coffee will grow cold). They also overcharged us (although not by very much, and they did correct this). We found a prowler fiddling at the door at five o'clock on the Sunday afternoon, and were fobbed off with the explanantion that he was merely testing the door locks because there had been a complaint. Very reassuring. Let me not even speak either about the monastic "breakfast", but the staff were at least polite and less fiery than the spicy sausages. And then consider that all that comes not at the cheapest rate, either.

I am sorry your rating scale only goes down to "terrible". To rate this disaster adequately, you show introduce a negative scale, and even then I think this nightmare would still fall off the scale!

Room Tip: The best you can do is stay far away from this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding your recent stay at our Establishment.

The feedback we receive from our valued Customers, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the shortfall regarding advertising of our properties facililties, we will rectify this with the booking site. All the Hotel Rooms within our property are fitted with Showers. Again, sincere apologies as I know that arriving at our Hotel and not being advised prior is very dissappointing.

The Safety and Security of our Guests is very important to us and on a regular basis we do Evacutation Drills with our Staff Members, and Guests are encouraged to join in. Please know that every effort is taken to ensure that guests are not inconvenienced by this action and regrettably, from our side, the notification on arrival was not given to you.

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting our normal high standards of accommodation and service.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and hope that you will contact me directly for any future bookings, so that I can personally ensure that you experience our normal high standards of service and accommodation

Kind regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our arrival experience was not good. I had booked 2 rooms for 3 nights, some 7 months prior to arrival. I had asked for non smoking, adjoining rooms, preferably facing the sea. The adjoining room was required as our kids (12 and 14) were holidaying with us. We were given two rooms at opposite ends of the floor, only one had a partial sea view and one was smelling of smoke (it was a non smoking floor). The staff on the desk did change the room smelling of smoke to a room 4 doors away (not sure why this could not have been undertaken originally).
From there on in, we found staff very helpful and breakfast was good. WiFi was free - and worked. The hotels Butchers Block restaurant adjoining the hotel was very good and we ate there for two nights. It was a very clean hotel with secure parking. We visited Gateway Shopping Centre and the Sharks Board, both within a short walk. Could easily have scored a 5 out of 5!
Overall it was enjoyable - after our disappoining check in.

Room Tip: They said that rooms were allocated at check in (not in advance) so on this basis, check in as early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Belfast Birder,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for us not meeting your booking requirements on arrival at the Hotel. I am however pleased to read that the situation was resolved and the remainder of your holiday with us was an enjoyable one.

I will definately pass on your comments to the team regarding your breakfast feedback and the helpfulness of the team. Butcher Block Restaurant does come highly recommended, so I am pleased that you had a good dining experience with them. We are very fortunate to be in such close proximity to Gateway Theatre of Shopping, Umhlanga Beaches and the Sharks Board - all great leisure destinations!

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards

Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I asked for a room with a view. We didn't get one and were told none were available. Then we were offered one. And given a key to someone else's room. I bet that poor person never knew that someone else had been given access to their room and belongings.
Eventually we got what we asked for. Took a manager to sort it out though. Disappointing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Helsbels111
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. It is our goal to constantly provide superior service and accommodations to our guests. I am most dissappointed that we didn't initially meet your requirements, however, I am pleased that our Management Team did resolve the situation. We value you as a customor and know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.
Warm regards
Bronwyn McLeod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.