We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price you pay this is a great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For the price you pay this is a great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a brand new budget hotel that offers great rooms and a wonderful breakfast area compared to some expensive hotels in the same area. If you want a great hotel experience with a low budget, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Request for sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our Hotel. We certainly do feel that we provide value for money so it is most welcoming to receive your positive comments regarding our facilities on offer. We do feel that we have the best views in Umhlanga! Hope to welcome you back soon to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    62
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
26
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Being very close to gateway shopping mall on one side and having a beautiful sea view from the other side makes the hotel a good one. breakfast is for all, which is very good for the price of the accommodation, not many varieties though on the breakfast table and no live cooking egg station, still it went well. staff kind and helpful but there was not the extra mile taken all was just ordinary, I have been in many hotels in Durban and staff were there biggest asset. not here!

Room Tip: sea view is always the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We certainly do value our guests feedback as it is an excellent tool for us to manage how our guests perceive our product and our services. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are very fortunate in having such a great location - being close to one of SA's Largest Shopping Malls, and then on the other hand having spectacular views of the ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

New hotel centrally located close to major roads, byways & highways, Gateway SC & Umhlanga, offering very comfortable rooms & bathroom with a great, large shower, (no bath though, if anyone of that persuasion/preference is interested?). Considering its location, amenities & room it represents fair to good value, and only the breakfast is a bit limited & disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for your review on our Hotel. We are very fortunate to have such an ideal location - ocean, shopping malls, airports, free ways - all easily accessible to our lovely Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was at Durban, for 2 days and thoroughly enjoyed my time at Holiday In Express Umhlanga. Great room, pretty basic; Comfy beds. Great view from the restaurant on Level 1, the early morning view is superb, Buffet breakfast is fresh and very filling. Choice of Vegetarian and non-veg available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for positive feedback. We are very fortunate to have such spectacular views of the ocean and I am so pleased that you got to enjoy the view from our Great Room. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was surprised at how reasonably the hotel was priced. Great hotel where the staff couldn't do enough for you. It helped that they were evidently all Sharks fans! Very comfortable rooms and clean facilities. Having Gateway accross the road was terrific. Thank you to everyone...we'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms have very little or no cupboard space but are otherwise very comfortable. If you would pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the favourable review regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. I will definately pass on your positive feedback to the team.
Hope to see you back at the Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family and I vacationed at the Holiday Inn Express and enjoyed our stay.

The reception area is small but very lovely. The decor at the hotel is modern.
The room was small but clean and there are no cupboards available for your clothing. The bathroom is compact with a shower. I think that the bedroom is ideal for 2 people and is a tight squeeze with the kids. The pool area was lovely. The kids spent hours at the pool which had a few deckchairs available.

Breakfast was good but the food seemed to run out very fast. The lamb sausages were finished and my son didnt get to have any. I asked the Manager on duty at the restaurant & they offered to make chicken sausages but we declined because of the time factor.

The view is spectacular from the breakfast area and it is lovely to just sit on the balcony and look at the ocean. The location is great. It is close to the beach however not walking distance. The Gateway of Theatre Shopping Centre is also close by.

I would stay here again as the hotel rate is reasonable with breakfast included.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a sea facing room but if you dont sitting on the balcony outside the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great place, superb staff, lots of good choice of food in walking distance: Its a typical Holiday Inn Express but made better by the Staff: I spent 60 plus nights there in last two years and know them all by name....

Room Tip: ask for sea view... 101, 201, 301 are great rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga

Address: 2 Ncondo Place | Cnr Ncondo Place & Ntusi Road, Off Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DURBAN-UMHLANGA offers stunning sea views. Ideally situated within walking distance to the upmarket Gateway shopping and entertainment centre and within short driving distance from the Umhlanga beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlang Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.