We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sibaya Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Sibaya Lodge to your Saves list
The Sibaya Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sibaya Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Sibaya Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location great rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in a standard twin room which had 2 luxury double size beds and a bathroom with large bath and separate shower. The room is big, spacious and had a superb view of the rolling hills. The room had a tea and coffee station, mini fridge and range of bathroom amenities and nice flat screen TV. The lobby is lovely, with views of the pool and sea. The pool has the most breathtaking views of the sea. Breakfast was ok, but not up to the usual Sun International standard or selection, and was overpriced at R200 per person, plus you pay extra for hot chocolate. I could not access what i assumed was free wifi.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked on line as I previously stayed at the hotel and not the lodge. There is a big difference in the rooms. The lodge was disappointing and very basic in comparison to the hotel rooms. The room price is not worth the basic amenities. The TV picture reception is poor. The bathroom is very basic and not what I expected. No clock radio to see the time in a dark room. Communication via email and via telephone is poor.

The views are great.

Room Tip: Book the Hotel rooms which are far better than the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to the Sibaya for the day. Not like other Sun International resorts. The casino is the same but not too much in the way of other facilities. There are no shops or boutiques except for one sweet shop.

The buffet restaurant was very good and the staff were excellent. We walked down to the spa and the staff there showed us around. It looked like it would be very relaxing when it was finished but I couldn't imagining myself staying at the lodge as there is just not enough to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Sibaya Lodge as my husband was working and the location was perfect. He left early in the morning and came back after 5pm. I was left on my own for the day - but there was so much to do. The casino is a very short walk away and the complex also has movies, restaurants, fast food areas and coffee shops. The rooms are large, air conditioned with a small balcony where one can sit and watch the ships go by. There is also a beautiful pool - which I did not try as it was winter!! For breakfast there is a large selection of both hot and cold choices and the service was excellent - with waiters always friendly and available should you require any special dietary requests. The casino has a large number of slots as well as table games with good security so even being a woman on my own I never felt nervous. Umhalanga Rocks is close by and has a large shopping mall with a wide variety of shops - for the most discerning shopper! We spent a very enjoyable week there - and I am already looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springs, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely views. Very close to the airport and Umhlanga. Far enough from the busy city. Clean and spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Breakfast can be better, but breakfast is just breakfast. Nice cosy casino. I will make this a must stop-over everytime I go to Natal.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are always the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at the lodge for 2 nights, good, clean accomodation, for a quick weekend in Durbs. Casino not over crowded and enjoyable. A bit of a drive to central Durban but if you looking for some peace and quite time this will be the place!! restaurants are clean and having a choice of food is great when you have children with. Absolutely convenient to the airport!
Staff are friendly and give you the service you need. A must when you in Durban!

Room Tip: stayed in the lodge so not sure of the other rooms, maybe better at the Hotel side near the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is magnificent. The rooms are large and amazing. We had to ajoining rooms and it was like being in a house. The food in the hotel was awesome. THe food in the casino restaurants is pretty good too. The seafood restaurant has great great seafood platters if you don't mind waiting a bit. The casino is pretty cool too. A must if you are staying close to Durban!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sibaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sibaya Lodge

Address: 1 Sibaya Drive | Umhlanga, Umhlanga Rocks 4320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sibaya Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Sibaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sibaya Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sibaya Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.