We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great three nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anchor's Rest to your Saves list
Anchor's Rest
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great three nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was there for three nights right from my Day 1 in Durban and the reception was awesome,the orientation lovely and the rooms fantastic.Peter, Cilla and Sandy are so warm to their clients and really helpful.Definitely,its a place I wanna go back and spend my days and Nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Anchor's Rest and our hospitality. We would love to see you back here again and hope that it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back as a 'return' guest.

Kind regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
58
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Had a lovely stay - both owner and staff were very friendly. I think the room we had was a little small but I think there are other large ones, Great facilities for guests and great breakfast. Good spot for staying to explore the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Anchor's Rest. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our great breakfasts. We always say that a guest won't go hungry with the extensive breakfast menu which we have.

The room which you were booked into is our standard room and it is the smallest room which we have. We most certainly do have much bigger rooms which open onto a tranquil, tropical garden or overlook the pool deck with a view out to the ocean. So we hope that you will return to our wonderfully sunny shores to book another stay at Anchor's Rest so that you can experience one of our large, superior rooms.

We would love to welcome you back as one of our 'repeat guests'.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Anchor's Rest Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Having been touring for a month from Cape Town all along the coast and inland to Grahamstown one or two nights at each stop, what a pleasure to spend 8 nights with Peter and Cilla, wish they had availability for longer but although we booked in May they were already full from 20 Dec. We had the Strelitzia room, very private, wonderfully spacious and well equipped, great to have self catering facilities so as not to have to go out all the time. We know Umhlanga very well having been many times over many years, AR was in a great position, walking distance to everything - great when it's so busy and difficult to find parking. It was also very quiet, our hosts and Sandy added to the very pleasant experience, great breakfasts and well stocked honesty bar. Will definitely be returning to our new home in Umhlanga!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Anchor's Rest and thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay.

It sounds like you had a wonderful trip before reaching us, we are most envious. It is so rewarding for us when our guests call Anchor's Rest their 'new home' or 'home from home' as then we know that we have met their expectations and hopefully exceeded them.

We are delighted you enjoyed our wonderful breakfasts and that you made use of the honesty bar as it is a great facility for guests.

We look forward to seeing you back at Anchor's Rest for another visit, hopefully not too far away. Wishing you a happy, healthy and prosperous 2014.

Warm regards,
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Anchores Rest is a superb place to visit, the staff and the owners are very hospitable, friendly and make you feel.at Welcome, like you are at home. The Guesthouse is clean, neat, cosy, luxurious and quiet. My wife and I always enjoy our stay at Anchores Rest, we always look for an.accuse to.book there, it is like a home.away from home

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on Anchor's Rest. We always enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to your visits as it's like welcoming friends back .

Please do find another excuse to come back to your 'home away from home'. Best wishes for a happy, healthy and successful 2014.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The only regretful thing about our stay was the fact we had only booked to stay for 2 nights! It was fantastically located just a few minutes walk from Umhlanga village, extremely clean and the hosts were so welcoming, helpful and genuinely interested. The breakfast was delicious home cooking and the rooms individual and comfortable. The honesty bar was a great touch too. Would highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We so enjoyed reading your review as we love it when newcomers to Umhlanga really enjoy our little piece of Paradise. Thank you so much for all the wonderful compliments about Anchor's Rest which gives us such a wonderful sense of satisfaction.

We are pleased you enjoyed our great breakfasts and that you made use of the honesty bar which I make sure is well stocked for our guests.

Next time you come to our wonderful sunny coast, please do stay for longer so that you can experience more of the area.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Anchors Rest was a home away from home, secluded, peaceful and comfortable. Everything was so accessible, and the rooms were always clean when we got back from the beach. The service was impeccable with attention to detail. I will without a doubt be returning soon. Many thanks to Sandy as well as Peter.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for calling Anchor's Rest 'a home away from home' as this is what we have set out to achieve - a welcoming, homely environment, with good service of course.

Our housekeeping staff do work hard to make sure that guests' room are cleaned thoroughly and look fresh and inviting.

We look forward to seeing you again when you return for your next visit to our little haven in Umhlanga, which we are so pleased you enjoyed.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Excellent hospitality from owners Peter and Cilla Rose, who were both very friendly and welcoming. Great breakfast menu. The establishment was well maintained, nicely decorated, and has a nice homely feel to it. Very peaceful. Good location, in a quiet residential area just 5 minutes walk to the town centre shops and restaurants, and about 10 minutes walk to the sea front. I stayed for 2 nights and found it to be very good value. I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Anchor's Rest, as well as our breakfasts, which many guests have commented on. To keep our extensive menu I do end up doing a lot of grocery shopping each week, which is worth it when guests thoroughly enjoy the English breakfast.

Isn't it great when you can walk to all the facilities of Umhlanga and not have to use your car to drive the shops, beach, etc. We so enjoy being able to walk everywhere as well.

When you are next planning a trip to Umhlanga, please do come and stay at Anchor's Rest again as it will be great to welcome you back.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor's Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.