We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor's Rest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anchor's Rest to your Saves list
Anchor's Rest
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Cilla and Peter were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed for three nights and had the two garden rooms for us and our older children.The rooms were spacious, clean, very comfortable and well-equipped, and as we were on the lower level we had our own patio areas that were very secluded.it was a very short walk to the beach and the great choice of restaurants that come alive at night! The guest lounge is really comfortable, and the "honesty" bar is a nice touch, giving guests a comfortable area to have a quiet drink. Breakfast was fantastic - such a varied choice, and so much to eat!! We would definitely recommend Anchors Rest, and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, which we greatly appreciate. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed the privacy and gardens of the two garden suites, which are indeed ideal for a family or two couples travelling together. Glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts and that you didn't put on any extra weight.

It always 'warms our hearts' when guests enjoy Umhlanga Rocks as we are passionate about our 'village' and love it when other people discover how wonderful it is.

Please do visit us again soon as it is great for us to get to know our guests better when they return for repeat visits.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    23
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
76
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've been to Umhlanga twice, tried several B&Bs, and this one is definitely the best one!!

The design is so well done that you feel that you have all the place to yourself! we chose the yellowood room, which is on a lower level, has its own patio (along with a braai facility!), directly on the garden, where there's a door that leads directly to the street.You really feel like the whole place is yours!! (unlike another B&B in the area, where all the room were tiny and next to one another, and the noises from all the house were heard!)
The room is very spacious, complete with a kitchenette including everything you could possibly need!
The owners, Cilla and Peter, are the nicest ever. I was shocked to read a reviewer complain about Peter because he was very welcoming and friendly!
the location is brilliant, a 2 minute walk to what the locals call "the village" which is basically the attraction area at night, boasting with vibrant bars and numerous restaurants, a woolies and checkers.
it's also a 3 minute walk to the lovely beach.
it was perfect!! Will always stay there if ever in Umhlanga!

Room Tip: The Yellowood room was really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the peace and privacy of the large, luxury rooms, as we do feel that this is something special about Anchor's Rest as these rooms are self contained and offer so much to our guests.

We are also delighted that you enjoyed the accessibility of our 'village' and all of the wonderful facilities that it has to offer.

You were great guests and we enjoyed sharing our Guest House with you. We are looking forward to seeing you both again - hopefully soon.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for one night - our first in South Africa - we could not have asked for a more accommodating & friendly welcome - the team provide an excellent service - from the charming rooms to the delicious breakfast - the house itself is in a quiet residential street close to the centre of Umhlanga Rocks - a safe & easy walk to the many bars & restaurants ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are so pleased that you had a good start to your new life in South Africa. Umhlanga Rocks is a great place to visit, even better to live here as many of our guests have described it as 'a little piece of paradise'.

We certainly hope that you will continue enjoying your life here and that your new business venture is going well. Thank you for choosing Durban as your city of choice to start this exciting business venture.

We so enjoyed having you stay with us and learning more about you. We wish you all the best and every success for the future. Unfortunately you won't be staying with us again as you now live here, but if family or friends ever need a bed, we are just up the road from your new home.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malawi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Myself (Mathias Phiri) and Alex mwale, both Malawians, sought accommodation at Anchor's Rest for 7 nights, between 29th July and 5th August 2012. There is a wonderful team at this guest house. They are very friendly, generous and caring.
The place is well secured hence the stay is always comfortable. The meals (breakfast) are fantastic as well.
Anchor's Rest is in the heart of Umhlanga town and close to the beach, Indian ocean. So, recreation and shopping are very conducive.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have access to the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We hope your trip back home to Malawi was without incident and that you both arrived home safely. We are delighted that you have mentioned our wonderful breakfasts as guests have frequently said our breakfasts are the best that they have had. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our lovely garden rooms.

As these two visits were business visits, we hopefully look forward to seeing you with your family next time.

Regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Anchors Rest gave us the opportunity to experience such amazing vacation; since it was out first vacation as friends the palce gave us the chance to bond as friends; their facilities and hospitality it is such beyond words. We just cannot stop sharing to other people about the place; we felt at home and yet being on holiday ; everything it is accessable and surrounding are just safe . Thank you to Peter and the Team for caring and their hospitality.

Siyabonga ;Thank you , Baie Dankie, Enkosi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but we loved our garden and the view to see the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are so pleased that you and your friends had a wonderful time at Anchor's Rest. You were great guests and we so enjoyed seeing all of you relaxing and appreciating the facilities of our Guest House as well as those of Umhlanga Rocks.

We are looking forward to seeing you and more of your friends back at Anchor's Rest. Don't leave it too long - winter is a great time to stay here as we don't have a winter season - it stays warm all year round in our little piece of paradise.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We chose anchors rest as a much needed resting place after running the Comrades ultra marathon. Peter, Cilla and Sandy were perfect hosts, very helpful & friendly. Peter's recommendations for dining out were excellent. Our room gave us privacy in the beautiful garden, yet we were a short walk to the beach, restaurants, cafes and shops.
On returning to uk we realised we had left a treasured ultra marathon t shirt in our room. In response to our email, Cilla posted the t shirt to us with a lovely letter. Service with a smile!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thanks so much for your complimentary review. We are pleased that Anchor's Rest offered you the rest and relaxation that you needed after completing the Comrades Marathon. That is a gruelling Marathon indeed and we admire all of the dedicated runners who manage to complete it!

We are looking forward to seeing both of you next year for the 2013 Comrades. Good luck with your training and we are sure you will both be in excellent shape next year to successfully complete the "up run".

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Fantastic location, gorgeous setting, spacious and clean rooms, comfortable beds and personalised service at its best!

Visiting Durban for the “Top Gear show”, we wanted a hotel / guesthouse close to the King Shaka Airport and the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

After contacting various different hotels / guest houses in and around Durban, we decided upon Anchor’s Rest, Umhlanga Rocks. Cilla managed to impress us with her kindness and willingness to accommodate us, as well as the fact that she responded to our e-mails in a very prompt way.

Hosts, Peter and Cilla catered for all our needs. We were also introduced to the lovely and helpful Sandy. As we arrived at the King Shaka Airport around 09:00, Cilla offered to take care of our luggage until we were able to check-in at Anchor’s Rest. She also printed our boarding passes for our flight home. Peter assisted by guiding us regarding the roads to the stadium, as many roads were blocked off.

We enjoyed a tremendous breakfast and our son loved the pool. Anchor’s Rest is very close to the beach, the shops and restaurants, as well as The Gateway Mall. A fantastic destination for all seasons, as it seems that Durban has no winter season.

Our stay at Anchor’s Rest: safe, quiet and peaceful – absolutely PHENOMENAL!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson2008, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay at Anchor's Rest and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the weekend so much. The Top Gear Festival was fantastic and we hope that you will be back next year for the second Festival - we will definitely be going again.

I know Durban doesn't have winter and the fact that your son swam in the pool just goes to prove it. Hope Bloemfontein wasn't too cold when you got back home. Looking forward to seeing you all again in 2013.

Warm regards
Cilla, Peter and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor's Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.