We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the normal fair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dodo Bistro

Dodo Bistro
18 Cordiner Street, Scottburgh 4180, South Africa
0834191490
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Scottburgh
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not the normal fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We first ate at The Dodo Bistro earlier this year and we were not disappointed when we went back in June while on holiday. The food was delicious, the menu offers something to suit most palates whilst being a little out of the ordinary. The host Andrew has a knack of knowing when to leave alone and when to come give advice. We will keep going back when ever we are in the area( not very often i'm afraid). A lovely experience most appreciated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Surprise to see Mauritian food here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had Mauritian curry for two nights in a row. It's that good. And the owner Andrew is very friendly and looks after his guests.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dodo does it again!!!!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wow,wow and wow again! What a great evening at the Dodo at that makes it three from three! The smoked marlin salad was perfect and the stir fry prawns to die for! My wife had the Camembert cheese starter and the lamb shank for mains! It was great! And then just as I thought the evening was complete, out comes the ice creams that are created by the chef, Andrew himself! You HAVE to try the peanut butter ice cream! So thanks again Dodo Bistro, great price, quaint and intimate atmosphere and above all else, superb food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umkomaas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Dodo's will always be special to us. We had our wedding lunch there (20 people) and they allowed us to choose our own menu from their existing one. Last night we went there for our 4th anniversary dinner and had an amazing meal. The Vietnamese Bass Fish is a must as well as the peanut butter ice cream. Thank you Andrew and Laura.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Homely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Loved the food albeit I was not brave enough to try the cane rat curry - which is actually a type of porcupine! Loved the garlic bread, very, very different. Very good value and lovely friendly hosts.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dodo Bistro also viewed

Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Dodo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dodo Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.