We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy home cooked meals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hot Spot Food Fusion

The Hot Spot Food Fusion
Newark Road , Tuzi Gazi Waterfront, Richards Bay, Richards Bay 3900, South Africa
+27 35 788 0563
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Richards Bay
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Hot Spot Food Fusion is a family run restaurant situated at the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront in Richards Bay that serves a variety of foods: Indian cuisine and Thai cuisine with a little Italian flavour added to it. Our menu is small but quite varied to suit every taste. We are fully licensed to serve alcohol and have a variety of chilled local beers and a selection of local wines sold by the glass. Our guests are from all walks of life: from office workers to families to visiting tourists. We at The Hot Spot love to smile and are friendly bunch so please try your best to leave your worries behind when you enter our humble establishment and be happy!We look forward to having you enjoying our meals and we promise to feed you and your family the best way we possibly can.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy home cooked meals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic home cooked meal. Met the lovely hosts - Rashid and Stephania. And coming from a Kenyan and a Zimbo, we felt like being at home! Thank you for your hospitality and good laughs!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephania10, Owner at The Hot Spot Food Fusion, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you! It was lovely having you guys and we are glad you enjoyed your meal! Jazak Allah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! A little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Visiting Richards Bay for business on a regular basis and having stayed in various establishments and been to various restaurants, this little gem is the first place I want to visit when I get there. The food and fabulous hosts, the fact that it is hidden away from the rest of the action on the waterfront, makes it place very special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephania10, Owner at The Hot Spot Food Fusion, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A wonderful surprise. Our last afternoon in South-Afrika after spending 4 weeks in this beautiful country, couldn't be better spend than "lunch at the Hotspot", before going back to the Netherlands.
The most wonderful, warm, friendly en kind owners, in a rather odd ambiance, but very good atmosfere! Made the most delicious lunch for us. It was the most memorable lunch we have had in South-Afrika! (And we have had some, at the most wonderful places!)
Only.... a glass of wine to go with it would be nice. But that wouldn't keep us away for coming again when we are in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephania10, Front Office Manager at The Hot Spot Food Fusion, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks a million for the wonderful review! We just love the definition of "rather odd" ambiance! Normality sometimes is rather boring...Viva la difference! We at "The Hot Spot" cannot thank you enough for taking the time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only place to go in Richards Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Talk about a Hot Spot! On the side of Richards Bay’s very boring, very predictable waterfront is a little one room restaurant called Hot Spot. This little gem can sweep the whole other lot under the table.
The food is a delightful mixture of Indian deliciousness and Italian fabulousness reflecting the very distinct personalities and backgrounds of Rashid and Stephania, the Indian / Italian couple running this restaurant.
Don’t expect pomp and ceremony. There are three tables inside and four outside and everything you order will be made right there behind the counter.
The food is delicious, the portions generous and except for the eccentric owners you will bump into all kinds of interesting locals or people coming off boats who obviously always stops there.
Hot Spot is Halaal and don’t serve alcohol but I've been there a few times and take my own cold beer to drink with the Lamb curry, red wine with one of the delicious beef dishes or a cold white wine with the Biryani.
Go! You won’t regret it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephania10, Front Office Manager at The Hot Spot Food Fusion, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for the review that really hit the nail on the head: The Hot Spot food is Halaal and it does not sell alcohol but the we do encourage our guests who enjoy a drink to bring their own...thanks for pointing that out, I am sure it will be noticed! And thanks for calling us "eccentric" : it is one of the best compliments we have had so far!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Diamond in Richards Bay - Tuzi Gazi Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Hot Spot is a Diamond in Richards Bay.

Richards Bay is one of the major industrial hubs of South Africa, smelters, mining, coal ports etc. And fast food chains are big business here, all about volume and price, quality is not so important. As I have been in Richards Bay for two weeks in the past month I have sampled most the restaurants on offer. I was in a quandary tonight; where was I do dine... the thought of going to another of the myriad of food chains on offer. A shudder went through my spine.. so I jumped on tripadvisor and got a reference to "hole in the wall" good joint at the Tuzi Gazi Waterfront. Thanks to Simon, I got a reference to a mom and pop operation and was as he described in his review, "An Oasis in the Desert".

And how is this, I have dined at several of the restaurants at Tuzi Gazi Waterfront, I didn't see or know about the "Hot Spot". And I had to do a bit of searching to find it, it is relatively hidden in a little hole in the wall in a building facing away from Dros on the boardwalk. It is in the carpark not on the waterfront boardwalk.

The two owner operators, mom and pop, were a delight. Very friendly, engaging and inspiring. Oh, I ordered a butter chicken. Yum, top quality.

Oh check out their garlic naan. Great flavour and a bit thicker than a traditional naan bread I am used to in Australia. So I ended up eating the butter chicken with the garlic naan, very nice.

I will return to mom and pop this week and try some of their asian options too. Thanks mom.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephania10, Front Office Manager at The Hot Spot Food Fusion, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
And we at "The Hot Spot" are very glad you eventually managed to found us and that you enjoyed the food! Look forward to having you again...son! ;- )))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hot Spot Food Fusion also viewed

Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal
Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal
Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Hot Spot Food Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hot Spot Food Fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.