We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, preferential treatment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Imperial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   224 Jabu Ndlovu Street, Pietermaritzburg 3200, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service, preferential treatment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Checked in 22 November 2011 at 9:57 pm. Told dinner is closed irrespective of a plea made. Reservation was for Suite room but given single beds room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very disappointed to hear we could not live up to your expectations when visiting our hotel. I have already addressed the issues raised with our management team in order to capacitate them how to deal with these situation in future. Secondly, my sincere apologies for the confusion around your room reservation and the inconvenience experienced.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again and restore your confidence in our product and service levels.

Yours sincerely,

Rodney Bull – General Manager
Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    9
    3
    10
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart Tasmania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The staff here do not speak English and could not even take a room service order. The room was very expensive and not overly great. Room service took forever and most items on the menu were unavailable despite being a saturday night.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations when staying with us at the Protea Imperial in 2009. Your feedback has been noted and addressed accordingly. The hotel has been extensively refurbished, new management has been appointed and new service standards put in place. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in future.

Yours sincerely,

Rodney Bull
General Manager Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

The Protea Imperial hotel has a sort of faded grandeur - the former ballroom now serves as the restaurant. The bar has a kitsch 70's feel and is an atmospheric place for a drink as long as you don't mind the sport (UK football and SA rugby on our visit). Bedroom was spacious and reasonably well equipped although the en suite bathroom only had one hand towel. Breakfast and dinner were both buffets - food didn't seem to be terribly fresh and we did wonder if it might have been a second outing for some of it. All in all though, perfectly adequate for an overnight stop if you're passing through on your way from Durban to the Drakensburg mountains.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us at the Protea Imperial in 2009. In order to further improve our services and facilities, the hotel has been extensively refurbished, new management has been appointed and new service standards put in place.

The entire team looks forward welcoming you back soon when visiting Pietermaritzburg!

At your service,

Rodney Bull
General Manager Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Stayed for three nights. Excellent check-in staff, professional and friendly. Hotel spotlessly clean throughout. Stayed over a weekend, very quiet. Suspect it's probably busy with business travellers at other times. Room was OK, nothing special but comfortable, cool and quiet. Food at breakfast and one evening for dinner was fine, but the service was decidedly idiosyncratic...but still with a certain charm. We'd definitely recommend the hotel for a stay in PMB. It's central, safe and well-located.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel Imperial, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Just a quick note of gratitude for your kind words. Just for your information, we have upgraded our hotel's facilities in order to further enhance the quest experience at the hotel. So, we look forward welcoming you back soon at the new and improved Protea Hotel Imperial.

At your service,

Rodney Bull
General Manager Protea Hotel Imperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Imperial

Address: 224 Jabu Ndlovu Street, Pietermaritzburg 3200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pietermaritzburg, Protea Hotel Imperial is filled with charm and classic elegance. Built in 1878, it is absolutely a gem in the 'City of Choice'- Pietermaritzburg, which is also the capital of KwaZulu Natal. Within walking distance to the Provincial Parliament, Government head offices and the Natal Railway Museum, the hotel is ideal for both corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is 103km away from the Durban International Airport and 8km from Pietermaritzburg Airport. Protea Hotel Imperial with its historical ambience and tranquil flare, offers 70 air-conditioned and en-suite bathrooms with a choice of a single or double-bedded room and family suites. For the convenience of our GUESTS each room has in-room facilities that include a satellite TV, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities. Secure parking is available on the premises at no extra charge. 8 state-of-the-art conference venues are available, seating up to 400 delegates, fully equipped with all the necessary equipment including broadband wireless internet access in the Courtyard and foyer area. The Garden Room restaurant is open from 06h30 to 22h30 serving mouth-watering buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax with friends or meet the locals at the Woodhouse Bar which is open from 11h00 to 23h00. Pietermaritzburg is not only a historic area but there are numerous exhilarating events that take place in this area. The city gives start to the Duzi canoeing event, the Comrades Marathon, Midmar Mile Swimming competition and the Amashovashova Cycling Race. In winter GUESTS can witness snow in the midland areas such as Bulwer, Underberg and Drakensberg. For some Kasi (South African townships) flavor, GUESTS can visit Madlula's Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.