We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traffords

Traffords
43 Miller Street, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
033 3944364
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I enjoyed the food and loved the dog but I can see how it might put some diners off, not everyone is keen on animals at the table. We had a sweet waitress who I think was still in training and she did neglect my wine glass.

Would I go again - yes

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have been to many great restaurants all over the world and regularly dine in Joburg and Cape Town at top restaurants. I can definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone in the midlands area looking for amazing food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Honestly, couldn't believe that myself could have such delicious meals! Food was beyond superb. The vibe was awesome and we loved the setting. Even the little dog visiting us now and then was awesome! :D

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Personalised service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Highly recommended for that "special occasion" meal out. Definitely a cut above the rest with wonderful personal service and food that has been prepared with care and pride. The restaurant is divided up into small rooms so perfect for a having private intimate dinner with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a pity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lovely food, pleasant waitresses, but having an old dog begging for food at my table while eating is totally unacceptable. Will not go back because of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny H, Owner at Traffords, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mark, Thank you for your feed back on your visit to Trafford's . I am please my staff looked after you and that you enjoyed your meal . Chelsea our much loved resident cocker spaniel ,was brought up in the house that now houses Trafford's , this is her home . Most of our guests adore her and many have been naughty and fed her from the table , impacting very negatively on both her and other customers. I certainly will address the disciplining of her when I am away as I do understand how this can negatively impact on a great dinning experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traffords also viewed

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Traffords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traffords, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.