We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Tuesday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traffords

Traffords
43 Miller Street, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
033 3944364
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Tuesday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Yes, Traffords are officially open on Tuesdays now. And i recomend them!
Good service, great food, endearing surroundings.
Penny gives personal attention that is unusual in this day and age. And Kayla does a version of salmon that is really appertising, yet not quite the usual. The oxtail was also refreshingly different. Both highly recommended.
Tell your friends, this place is a winner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“A haven in chain-filled Maritzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We've been searching for two weeks for a restaurant where we could enjoy thoughtfully-prepared, seasonally-minded fare in P'Maritzburg, but have been consistently directed to chains. Traffords was an oasis for a gastronomically-minded group of travelers. The snails in puff pastry were excellent, as was the pork picatta and the duck cherry pie. Lovely wine selection and gracious service in an atmosphere reminiscent of everything you love about your grandmother's house without anything you don't. The best supper in Pietermaritzburg.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint warm flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

So nice to met by a smiling face! Seated in one of the small rooms that make up the restaurant we found ourselves enjoying the ambience even though we were the only lunchers there at the time. My ever-hungry diminutive wife opted for the braised liver and mash, and I for the salmon and halumi salad, which after about 15 minutes appeared beautifully presented. Needles to say we left not a scrap on our plates. The shared chocolate brownie and ice cream was a treat washed down by pretty good French- plunged coffee (don't know why more restaurants don't us this excellent method). We wondered why there wasn't some nice home-made bread offered although it wasn't really needed given the adequate portion sizes. And a nice touch to briefly meet the owner Penny. Well done Trafford team - we'll be back as soon as we can!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny H, Owner at Traffords, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging words . I have an amazing team of women , we all take a great pride in what we do . Look forward to you trying our new festive season menu's .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pmb, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I visited Traffords for the first time on a week night. It was very quiet with just one other couple in the restaurant. As it is an old traditional house, the restaurant is sectioned into different rooms to cater for different size parties, the biggest being able to accommodate 20 ppl and the smallest room a maximum of 8 ppl. We were asked if we would like to eat privately or whether we didn't mind sharing a room. As it was empty, we decided to share the room with the other couple dining. The rooms are all exquisitely decorated with Penny's own individual style, the wooden floors and attention to detail make it very homely and cosy. Had there been more patrons, the atmosphere would be amazing .......

Penny is a great host and the menu is fantastic. A few choices of starters, such as homemade broccoli and blue cheese soup, fish cakes, salmon and potatoe rossti stack, avo ritz, for mains - oxtail, lamb chops, fish of the day (cape salmon on our particular night which was phenomenal) and "to die for desserts". The portions are plenty and we in fact couldn't fit in the desert. So it was Don Pedros and Irish's for us.

For a 3 course meal you are looking at around R250 per head but well worth it and a lovely spoil once in a while. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and are planning on returning soon with a party of friends for an evening of fine dining. Personal and attentive service goes a long way ...


PS. You are able to take your own wine, with a max of 2 bottles per table with a corkage of R20 per bottle.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique offering in Pietermaritzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

There are very few options in Pietermaritzburg which offer something that is out of the ordinary, but Traffords is one of those, with its location outside of a mall, rather inventive menu, and personal service. I previously wrote a negative review of the restaurant, due to the poor service I received on a very busy Valentine's day, but having returned for a second attempt, we were rewarded for our efforts. Starters of fishcakes were very tasty, and a main course of oxtail was tender, meaty and well spiced, served in a portion that was just right, not too big, but not too small either. The chicken breasts with lemon roasted under the skin were also delicious, and served with a tasty risotto. I didn't venture into the dessert menu this time, but the coffee was good, and served with cubes of brown sugar on the side, a nice touch. Service from the owner Penny was well timed and unobtrusive. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traffords also viewed

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Traffords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traffords, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.