We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Hilton to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hilton Avenue,, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great ambience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It was the middle of winter and very cold the hotel has an old feel to it with wood burning fires and a feeling of warmth.

Definitely enjoyed our stay here and will return every winter if I can.

The hotel is in close proximity to sights in the midlands and can even arrange a tour company to take you around places in the area

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Ashley S

Thank you for the lovely review.

We love the wood fires in winter. So many GUESTS love the fire in reception and the restaurant as many people only expect it in the bar, it has a wonderful feeling of home.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
20
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good Evening,

Just a short note to express our wonderful experience at the Protea Hilton. We took a drive to the Midlands and wasn’t planning on staying over. Well We Google to see if there was a Protea Hotel in the area and the one in Hilton came up.

From Reception to Housekeeping the service was impeccable . I must say the ambiance and the History of the Hotel is fantastic. As for the restaurant service, this by far was one of our best experience. The waiter was an absolute star who made us feel at home.

This will definitely not be my last time at the Protea Hilton. Looking forward for a weekend away.

In comparison to history the Protea Hilton out ranks the Balalaika Hotel a million times over.

Well done to the management and Staff of the Protea Hilton.

From a Happy Guest

Deon Govender

Room Tip: Room facing the Pool area -Excellent choice - feels you in England
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Deongov

There is nothing more motivating for STAFF to reach for higher goals than genuine compliments.

Thank you very much for the wonderful letter. I have put it onto the notice boards in all the departments, if only you could see the smiles you have brought to so many faces. Thank you!

Please be sure to contact me when you next book so I can meet you personally.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

As a regular visitor to Protea Hotels in South Africa I am extremely impressed with the excellent service at the Protea Hilton Hotel. Heather and her personnel are doing their level best and she can be extremely proud of what she achieved at the Hilton. I rate this as one of the best Protea Hotels.

Johan Wolmarans

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear johanwolmarans0

Thank you for your lovely review and the chat at breakfast. It is heart warming when people have been coming to the Hilton for so many years and can see the difference.

I look forward to seeing you on your trips this way in the future. One of my favourite things about being a General Manager is that so many of our GUESTS become our friends.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Due to my work I travel all around the country. Last week we booked into the Hilton. From entering the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff willing to assist with every request we had. Supper and breakfast was delicous ! Well done Vusi in the kitchen and Ethan on the floor you both did a tremendous job. As for Heather the manager you are one lovely lady spontaneously chatting with us. After a cold and rainy day working hard we were treated warmly at a nice fireplace. The hotel staff's professional conduct will make us want to return again and again. Keep up the excellent service . Belinda and Wollie greetings to you all!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear 123belinda

Thank you so much for the amazing comments.

I do remember you sitting in front of the big fire in reception after your long day at work.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to our beautiful hotel. Thank you so much for the time taken to write your lovely review.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Silver Falcons Aerobatic Team had the privilege of being hosted by the Protea Hotel Hilton for the weekend of the Pietermaritzburg Airshow. The friendly staff, warm atmosphere, comfortable rooms and delicious food made this a memorable and relaxing stay. Thanks to the staff and hotel manager for your personal touch!! A definite must for the business traveler!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Werner97,

Thank you for the lovely review.

It was an absolute privilege to host your amazing TEAM, what a lovely group of young men. I shall display your wonderful comments for the TEAM to see.

I look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My Wife and I came across the Hilton Hotel whilst meandering. We stayed over and found everything Fabulous. We loved the place. Now when we go meandering we start off from The Hilton Hotel. We have stayed over several times. We love the area and have found many valuable antiques in the area. The Hilton Hotel is our favourite Holiday spot. The Hilton Hotel is romantic and just Fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view or ask for a room with a lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Minkey2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. GUEST feedback helps us to know where we can improve and motivates the STAFF.

The Midlands has a wealth of beautiful places to explore; be sure to ask for our magazines covering The Meander and The Amble.

I would love to meet you on your next trip, and advise you on some of the hidden gems in the area.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good option for the Pietermaritzburg area. Buffet for Supper as well as breakfast. Good quality food.

Rooms are comfortable with spacious on suite and separate toilet. Staff efficient and Friendly.

Easy accessible from N3

Room Tip: Ask for room viewing pool area, otherwise road noise can be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Hilton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear qwixwrp

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review. In this busy world we live in so many people never have time to write a review. It is always so motivating for the STAFF to read positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Heather Poulsen
General Manager
Protea Hotel Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Hilton

Address: 1 Hilton Avenue,, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Hilton - Opulent Elegance in the heart of the Kwa-Zulu Natal Midlands. Situated right on the doorstep of the Midlands Meander, this four star architectural show piece with its imposing Tudor lines, is a must stay for a meandering country charm seeker. Originally established in 1936, the elegant and upmarket hotel boasts all the modern amenities expected from holiday-makers to businessmen alike, making it the first choice for Pietermaritzburg accommodation. When bringing the family don’t forget your tennis rackets. Our on-site tennis court offers a great opportunity for the whole family to have some fun. Win or lose, a quick dip in the pool will calm everyone down and clear the air. Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner; a visit to our very own Ellingtons Restaurant offers a mouth-watering choice of local cuisine fit for Royalty. We also offer a private dining area for those special occasions or when entertaining clients. Don’t forget about our Cocktail Lounge that is ready to welcome you for pre or post dinner drinks. So for business or pleasure, Protea Hotel Hilton will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.