We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sushi at Saki” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saki Pacific Grill

Saki Pacific Grill
157 Victoria Road, Pietermaritzburg 3201, South Africa
033 342 6999
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“sushi at Saki”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a lovely waitress and the sushi was pretty good. We made use of the friday nite special where the sushi plates are priced per plate colour.
I thought the food overall was pretty good and good value for money. Also I am very happy to find a restaurant in Pietermaritzburg where we can get sushi other than travelling down to Durban.
They speak of a sushi bar but it wasn't in operation when we were there
Ambience - refers to the "the character and atmosphere of a place" and at the Saki Pacific Grill, I found the restaurant to be quite big and this perhaps adds to the ‘emptiness’ of the place. The lighting is bad and it’s probably why the restaurant has a bit of a dark, dirty feel to it. There was a bit of an odour that I detected, perhaps old fried food smells which cling to the walls or whatever I cannot say, but it all adds to the overall look and smell.
Clean white tablecloths and a clean down with a bit of bleach would go a long way in my opinion to improving the ambiance.

Would I go back: maybe for lunch or take-away

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sushi sort of...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The only "read" sushi they have is salmon. Rarely have tuna. Never have yellow tail or any other raw fare. Sit at the sushi bar and custom order what you like - and have a cold beer. Pleasant wait staff. Zulu "sushi chefs".

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique - and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Sushi is great - food delightful, sometimes a little understaffed, but all in all, love going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place, good food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We came on a sunny friday afternoon, we had a wonderful experience, food was amazing, the atmosphere was great and so was the venue, loved the staff very friendly, so thank you all for this expeience, the manager gave us chinese taqulia at the end was a lovley gesture.

will be back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good all-round exsperience at saki fresh and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Had a very good all-round exsperience at saki
The food was very well precented and tasted very fresh lots of exciting flavours
The Manager was very friendly and welcoming he also took the time to have a chat with us Which was a very nice touch
Floor staf were also friendly and helpful
All-round very good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saki Pacific Grill also viewed

Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Saki Pacific Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saki Pacific Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.