We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing African Dream come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karkloof Safari Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Karkloof Safari Spa to your Saves list
Karkloof Safari Spa
5.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   Otto's Bluff Road, Pietermaritzburg 3231, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing African Dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

From the minute I emailed my request for a night's stay for my sister and I, we were treated like royalty!!! Lawrence did everything he could to answer our enquiries speedily. Check in time is 8 am in the morning and check out time is 8pm the next day!! (if staying one night as we did)!!! So one glorious night and two full days to be spoilt in the spa and on game drives and a drive/walk to the Karkloof Falls!!! Everything was well worth every single star rating and more...The timeless experience is too true to believe...do whatever you want whenever you want including meals!! Game drives with Freedom (thank you Freedom for all your knowledge of the wildlife, birds and trees)!!! Most of the staff are from Zimbabwe (where my sister and I were born and raised) and we felt like home away from home with the friendliness of all the staff. The Spa has Thai ladies giving magnificent treatments very professionally (thank you Noo and Nan) and Augustine, the Assistant Manager, was a pleasure to talk to and fun to spend time with!! All of the staff are excellently professional and very very friendly without being intrusive!! And the views and wildlife.....words cannot express how therapeutic this whole experience was for me!! After a dreadful year health wise, relationship wise and job wise, this was just what I needed....an injection of Africa!!! And to share the experience with my sister..well what more can anyone ask for!!!
Thank you very much Karkloof Spa...I am sorry that I haven't mentioned everyone by name but you all know you made our experience so special and you will always be in our African hearts no matter where in the world we are living!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a heartfelt review of Karkloof. We are so happy to hear about your special time spent with us. Our aim is to always ensure that our Guests leave feeling revived, rejuvenated and ready for life back in the real world. The team at Karkloof will be delighted to hear about your comments. We look forward to having you here with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
72
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not being a spa kinda person, i was just amazed how beautiful the place was. The service is great and really friendly staff. The view from the rooms are just amazing. When you get there ask for villa number 4 and make sure you visit the spar. Make sure you take your time there. Other great sites are the waterfalls and the fishing... Thanks for the staff at Karkloof and am sure am coming back.

Room Tip: as i said villa 4 was spacious and the view was amazing.. one thing you have to be careful with are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is always interesting to hear back from Men who initially are not fans of spas and then when they have experienced the Karkloof "magic", seem to have a new light on it. We agree, one should definitely take their time at the spa and enjoy all the pampering and gorgeous therapies available. As for the monkeys, we agree, they are clever chaps! The joys and adventures of being surrounded by lush green bush. We look forward to having you visit here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

You cannot but enjoy the incredible service and luxury of Karkloof. Of all the hotels and lodges we have stayed in around the world, Karkloof has without doubt the highest level of service i have ever experienced. Top class meals when you want, Spa experiences any time of the day or night, and relaxing surroundings in the magnificent African Bush. It's not cheap, but if you're looking for something ultra special, perhaps romantic, and definitely luxurious, then Karkloof is the place to go !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for such a well written and brief review that captures Karkloof exactly. We pride ourselves on being the destination of choice for life's special celebrations. We are humbled by your compliment of being the "Best service" you have experienced in the world. I will most definitely pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to having you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Karkloof Spa, Wellness & Wildlife Retreat ( Africa’s 1st Seven Stars Award resort spa ) was a dream come true. I spend a week surrounded by sheer luxury, breathtaking views and amazing wildlife, spa-ing, organic dining, on safaris, climbing up waterfalls, adventuring, - and filming.

Room Tip: Karkloof does not offer rooms, but small and larger villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your great review on Karkloof and may we just say that your photos are absolutely stunning! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Having stayed at some of the best hotels and game lodges in the world, I am not easily impressed. So truly take it from where it comes when I say that I have NO recommendations/improvements that I could suggest to Karkloof. Stunning villa. WiFi, TV and DVD player that work effortlessly, a mini-bar containing all my preferences, and all the luxury one could want or need. Great game viewing, surprisingly - no predators, but plenty of rhino, buffalo, giraffe and plainsgame. Beautiful surroundings - that waterfall! Makoni was our guide was a gem. Every single staff member went out of their way to accommodate us, be it plain pasta or chicken strips for our daughters, or late night dining for us, after some evening Spa time. Excellent Thai Spa, massage was incredible. 10/10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Karkloof. As an avid traveller, we appreciate your compliments and comments. Makoni is truly a very special Ranger and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time on safari. We look forward to having you and your Family visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been to lots of luxury game lodges in Africa and Karkloof is in a league of its own. This is not a "game lodge" but they do have game. The waterfalls were stunning, the scenery unbelievable. The game are very relaxed so you do get to see them easily, and you can take walks in the bush, so this is not the typical safari at all. The service here is above and beyond. They treat you like royalty. Nothing is too much, everything revolves around what you want to do, when you want to do it. Spa treatments, walks, game drives, meals, whenever. The spa was pure heaven. My husband - who didn't want to go to a spa - can't stop talking about it and can't wait to go back. They let you check in at 8AM and you don't have to check out until 8PM so you get 3 full days for a 2 night stay. The food was amazing, I did the raw food detox diet and have never eaten better - I would do that all the time if someone would prepare it for me like that. I have never had smoothies that good or salads that fresh and wonderful. My husband, ate the regular offerings (he couldn't do without meat) and loved every meal. I loved the Thai Boxing, of course followed up with a massage made it even better. I think this should be a must for everyone going on safari - two days or more at the spa at the end of your trip. You need to do it at the end, as every place else would be a let down after Karkloof - so save the best for last and finish your time in South Africa with a real treat - Karkloof spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on Karkloof. We love hearing about Guests who experience all the activities that Karkloof offers. The detox and wellness program is such a wonderful offering and the Muay Thai boxing is exciting. Thank you for letting our audience know about it. We look forward to having you here again and I will let the team know how much you enjoyed their hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As a tour operator and having been in the hospitality industry for the past 15 years, I have been to many luxury properties throughout Southern Africa. Karkloof is in a league of its own and is the kind of place that should be on everyone's bucket list. Unbelievable staff from the gateguard to the housekeeper - these guys were born into hospitality! Exceptional rooms with complete privacy and over the top luxuries... delicious food and oh yes, a completely timeless experience - meals can be enjoyed at any time during the day or night! The best Spa I have ever experienced with over 10 Thai therapists and about 17 treatment rooms....all included in a very reasonable rate! We loved every single minute even though it was rainy during our stay, the staff, management and owner treated us like royalty and they were all definitely a very important part of making our honeymoon FANTASTIC!! Go now! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which had a lot of steps but the view is spectacular and it has its own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkloof1, Public Relations Manager at Karkloof Safari Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Karkloof. We look forward to having you here again and hopefully the sun will be shining for you to enjoy all the offerings here at Karkloof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karkloof Safari Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karkloof Safari Spa

Address: Otto's Bluff Road, Pietermaritzburg 3231, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Karkloof Safari Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the cinematic splendor of the Karkloof Valley, this modern and contemporary wellness and wildlife retreat is enhanced with the big heart of African sensibility. Karkloof Safari Spa offers a selection of supreme secluded lodges complimented by the finest cuisine and impeccable international standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Karkloof Safari Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karkloof Hotel Pietermaritzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karkloof Safari Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.